Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

School board front-runners emerge from early voting totals

Update at 9 p.m. - Voters rejected two bond propositions in Pilot Point ISD as all three voting precincts were reported.

The first proposition, an $11.9 million proposal for campus improvements and new facilities, failed with 53.4 percent voting against the measure. The second proposition would have allocated nearly $1.3 million for synthetic football turf, but the proposal failed with 58.4 percent voting against it.

This is the second year in a row a bond proposition has failed in Pilot Point.

Update at 8:30 p.m. - With all seven precincts reporting, incumbent Tim Hicks bested challenger Blake Abbe to keep his Place 6 seat on the Lake Dallas ISD school board. Hicks received 284 votes, or 73.4 percent, while Abbe received 103 votes, or 26.6 percent.

Current board president Lance Stacey received 309 votes for his uncontested Place 5 seat.

Original story - Early voting totals show Denton ISD school board incumbents holding on to their seats in this year's election.

According to unofficial numbers released from early voting totals, Jim Alexander received 65.7 percent of the vote for his Place 6 spot while his challenger Alfredo Sanchez took 34.3 percent of the vote. Alexander has held a spot on the board since 1993.

Incumbent Dorothy Martinez, who has been on the board since 2014, received nearly half of the vote for the Place 7 seat. So far, she has received 49.1 percent of the vote while challengers Justin Bell and Sam Ortiz took 37 percent and 13.6 percent of the vote, respectively.

Incumbents for Lake Dallas, Ponder and Sanger ISDs also seem to be holding the lead.

Lake Dallas incumbent Tim Hicks holds 72.2 percent of the vote for the board's Place 6 seat over challenger Blake Abbe's 25.8 percent. Board president Lance Stacy ran unopposed and will keep his Place 5 seat.

Ponder Place 2 incumbent Jeff Chapman is leading challenger Codi Delcambre with 69.2 percent of the vote. Delcambre currently has 30.8 percent of the vote. Current board president Vangee Deussen and secretary Brandi Jackson both ran unopposed for Place 1 and Place 3, respectively.

All three open spots on the Sanger school board were contested, but incumbents seem to be holding steady. 

In Place 1, incumbent Jimmy Howard received 68.5 percent of the early vote over challenger Jim Searles' 31.5 percent. Incumbent Brad Watts took 55.8 percent of the vote for Place 6 while challenger Kathy Carter holds 44.3 percent. In Place 7, incumbent Dale Gleason leads challenger Sarah Peers York with 56.4 percent of the vote to York's 43.4 percent.

Krum ISD may see a new face in one of its three at-large open seats. Challenger Chris Farmer currently leads the race with 36.7 percent of the vote. Incumbents Terry Knight, Mark Cofer and Teddy Wiley trail with 25.2 percent, 21 percent and 17 percent respectively.

Two Pilot Point ISD bond proposals look to be in danger of failing based off early voting totals. Nearly 52 percent of taxpayers voted against the district's first proposition, which would issue $11.9 million in bonds to be used for campus improvements and new facilities. An even larger number of early voters (56.3 percent) also rejected the district's second proposal, which would issue nearly $1.3 million in bonds for synthetic turf on the high school football field.

Sanger ISD's bond proposition looks like it may pass by a slim margin. Just over half (50.4 percent) of early voters approved the measure, which would issue $26.7 million in bonds for expansion, maintenance and athletic upgrades.

Argyle ISD taxpayers seem to be in favor of the district's $166 million bond proposal. Nearly 55 percent of the early vote was in favor of the measure, which would fund the construction of new schools.