Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content
Liberty Christian

In the Schools: Nov. 15, 2017

Denton ISD

Registration open for children's theater workshop

The Denton High School drama department will host a children's theater workshop during the school's annual craft fair next month.

The workshop will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 2, at Denton High, located at 1007 Fulton St. The workshop is open to any elementary-aged child and costs $50 to attend. Attendees should bring a sack lunch, but snacks will be provided.

To participate in the workshop, children must be registered by Tuesday, Nov. 28. Payments are due by cash or check on the day of the workshop and registration forms can be found at

For questions or more information, email


Group to host event benefiting Ronald McDonald House in Dallas

Families and runners from around the area are invited to attend Denton County Care's Fun Run and Festival this weekend at Ryan High School.

The event will begin at 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 19, at the Ryan High track, located at 5101 E. McKinney St. in Denton. Attendees are asked to bring one item per person to donate to the Ronald McDonald House in Dallas. Items can include a box of cereal, a packaged snack, laundry pods, toiletry items, an unwrapped toy or a financial donation.

The Fun Run will kick off at 2:45 p.m. and is open to all ages. The competitive mile race will follow at 3:45 p.m. Bounce houses, face painting and food trucks will also be available.

The Ronald McDonald House Charities provides free and low-cost housing to families whose children are receiving critical care at nearby hospitals. Denton County Cares will drop off all the donated items to the Ronald McDonald House in Dallas after Saturday's event.

For questions or more information, call Stacy Head at 940-597-1611.

Local students earn spots in all-region band, choir and orchestra

Several area schools will be represented at All-Region concerts later this school year with more than 100 students making the cut for the fine arts contest.

Band, choir and orchestra students at the middle and high school levels auditioned for the ensembles last month and many advanced to the area contest. If the students do well at the area contest, they'll go on to compete at the state level for a spot in the All-State band, choir or orchestra.

The students who made all-region will perform concerts for the public later this school year. To find the exact time, date and place of each concert, contact your school's fine arts department.

The following students were named to the all-region band, choir or orchestra:


Lake Dallas Middle School: Chloe Petty, Madi DeSpain, Grace Murray, Meagan Chander, Vivian Flores, Aiden Ford, Nathan Armijo, Trey Phillips, Rachael Cole, Trevor Couron and Aurelia Peattie.


Argyle Middle School: Sheridyn Oslter.

Argyle High School: Madi Mills, Kassidy Rosengren and Charis Reivitt.

Calhoun Middle School: Eleanor Davis and Isabella Rose.

Crownover Middle School: Claire Gillman, Jasmine Labelle and Gwyneth Zavala.

Harpool Middle School: Caroline Bowen, Wesley Crow, Aiden Daniels, Grant Keller, Aidan Lackstrom, Grace LaFlamme, Kristi Lee, Erica Jantz and Sarah Jenkins. 

McMath Middle School: Mackenzie Applin, Jolin Feng, Ruhama Kabir, Abigail Kim, Margaret Nicholson and DJ Woodson.

Myers Middle School: Joyce Ayeni, Levi Broom, Xander Croft, Elizabeth Lambert, Jacob Lester, Ethan Martin, Andrea Smith and Danelle Sumberaz.

Navo Middle School: Meghan Cox, Trinity Flangan, Alena Law and Krista Page.

Rodriguez Middle School: Eralee Ginn, Joslyn Marshall, Libby Quisenberry, Mikelle Shaffer and Bailey Westerfield.

Strickland Middle School: Adelle Anderson, Allan Brank, Rachel Braunschweig, Abigail Cook, Gary Felderhoff, Miguel Gonzalez, Sydney Koch, Tristan Lawrence and Brayan Vega.

Braswell High School: Lauren Barr and Kara Freeman.

Denton High School: Alyssa Williamson, Maddy Hal, Zach Sadeghian, Anna Baylock, Karlie Sherman, Lily Snider, Cari Ferguson, Madison Moffatt, Leia Gregory and Stephanie Williamson.

Guyer High School: Kiersten Farris, Carissa Snow, Christian Rives, Haley Dortch, Katie Beijan and McCaa Clancy.

Ryan High School: Tyler Winfree, Morgan Ducar, Sarah Broom, Jaedan Bobbitt and Seylah Williams-Bates.

Liberty Christian High School: Ben Ward, Sierra Cothes, Alexis Moore and Kylie Lewis. 


Calhoun Middle School: Aurora Esteves.

Myers Middle School: Giho Lee and Daehan Chang.

Strickland Middle School: Henry Appleton, Cai Clarke and Katherine Krueger.

Crownover Middle School: Ocean Xie, Siddhartha Shah, Joseph Hwang, Aidan Layman, Reema Russell, Yenna Hall, Gina Hall, Ethan Jones, Archer Hilton, Clara Beeks, Julian Kemp, Abbey Elliott, Madie Henson, Ah-young Kim, A.J. Knowles, Cesar Jimenez, Christine Djoumo and Christian Luevano.

Harpool Middle School: Hannah Kim, Audrey Lee, Eta Tako, Laura Avila, Hannah von Suskil, Rachel Woods, Ethan Wong, Vanessa Moyo, Sophia Gengo, Jackson Williams, Aaron McNair, Brendan Rieder and Sisley Stephens.

McMath Middle School: Hannah Lee, Kyubeen Lee, Kason Chesky, Sarah Turner, Rebekah Pakebusch, Salma Omary, Avery Jackson and Abigail Kim.

Rodriguez Middle School: Anthony Brooks and Katelin Tupper.

Braswell High School: Autumn Campos.

Denton High School: Yvette Han, Andrew Kim, Anthony Kim, Elena Summitt, Breanna Norton, Halle Summitt, Ethan Chen, Anna Schmieding, Charlotte Warrick, Lilia Chesky and Noah Norried.

Guyer High School: Teresa Lee, Stephan Gomez, Hyun-Jae Kim, Daniel Cho, William Oh, Renee Dusseau, Kayah Barnes, Jeanhyun Kim, Thomas Nguyen, Cole Foreman, Meredith Wilder, Anthony Roth-Giacinto, Nathan Gates, Alexander Rodriguez, Yubin Lim, Ethan Nguyen, Aidan Wood, Nathan Reed, Raquel Moore, Nuha Syed, Alan Cruz, Aubrey Nadeau, Sydney Morris, Nikki Sternadel, Jackson Cook, Alejandro Arias Diaz, Caitlin Gourley, Kyle Johnson and Miles Ellis.

Ryan High School: Melody Stevens, Johan Chang, Willem Bannick and Liam Daly.