Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

NCTC briefs

North Central Texas College

Academy recognizes GED candidates

The Drop-Out Recovery Academy at North Central Texas College recognized 23 GED candidates at a special ceremony Dec. 11.

The academy gives people the opportunity to earn a GED and begin the process of obtaining employable skills. It’s open to people between the ages of 18 and 25 who either dropped out of a Texas public high school or were signed out to be home-schooled but never completed studies.

It’s funded by a Texas Education Agency grant and is offered at NCTC’s Corinth and Gainesville campuses as well as at both Bowie and Aubrey high schools.

GED candidates honored at the ceremony included Dylan Alfonso, Jonathan Andolina, Cameron Bradley, April Sikes-Brown, Fernando Cabrera, Yaritza Castorena, Ryan Chaney, Jessica Conine, David Gates, Desiree, Gatlin, Mayra Gurerra, Angel Jasso, Brittany Manning, Dalton Martel, Randy Minnick, Von Moore, Kaylee Morgan, Katherine Paul, Cody Pederson, Tyler Peters, Lillie Stockwell, Veronica Varner and Colten Wooten.

For information, call 940-668-4272 or e-mail


NCTC regents approve new midyear positions

North Central Texas College regents approved the employment of new midyear personnel to help the school keep up with growing enrollment at its December meeting.

The board voted to use approximately $70,000 from set-aside monies as well as funds from part-time wages for six positions to be filled midyear. The positions include a full-time librarian for the Flower Mound campus, full-time (from part-time) maintenance position for Flower Mound, full-time (from part-time) business office position for Flower Mound, full-time (from part-time) admissions position for Gainesville and full-time administrator and dual-credit coordinator for western Denton County.

In personnel items, regents approved the employment of Michelle McLaughlin as a librarian, Melinda Carroll as associate registrar, Michael Fire as an instructor in the associate degree nursing program, and Sara Flusche as the department chairwoman in the teacher education program.

The board also approved the resignation of Marlene McBride, an instructor in the associate degree nursing program.