Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

TWU Briefs

TWU to present Celebration of Science

Three prominent scientists are the keynote speakers for Texas Woman’s University’s Ann Stuart and Ray R. Poliakoff Celebration of Science event, scheduled March 22 on TWU’s Denton campus.

Kim R. Dunbar, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor of Chemistry/Davidson Professor of Science at Texas A&M University; Susan M. Rosenberg, Ph.D., the Ben F. Love Chairwoman in Cancer Research at Baylor College of Medicine and professor in departments of molecular and human genetics, biochemistry and molecular biology, molecular virology and microbiology; and Lita Proctor, Ph.D., program director of the Human Microbiome Project at the National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health, are the guest speakers at the event, which celebrates “Women in Science.”

The daylong event includes an interactive forum with students titled “Careers in Science — Advice for Students,” a luncheon with the speakers and TWU students, a symposium titled “Women in Science: Research at the Interface of Biology and Chemistry” and a reception.

Most activities will take place in the Ann Stuart Science Complex. During the afternoon symposium, Dunbar will present “Anion-pi Supramolecular Interactions: An Overlooked and Exciting Tool for Chemists and Biologists.”

Rosenberg will present “Mutation, Network and the Regulation of Evolvability.”

Proctor’s presentation is titled “The Human Microbiome.”

TWU Chancellor Ann Stuart established the Ann Stuart and Ray R. Poliakoff Celebration of Science Series in 2011 with a $200,000 gift to the university.

Through a commitment of two decades of funding, the Celebration of Science Series intends to provide the opportunity for the Departments of Biology and Chemistry/Biochemistry to develop a sustained program of promoting and celebrating the wonders, truths and mysteries of science.

The Celebration of Science Series will continue annually through 2032.

Although events will vary from year to year, the intent always will be to engage current TWU students and faculty, alumni, K-12 students in Denton and others in the community.


Jones wins alumni excellence award

Deneese Jones, provost of Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, is the spring 2013 recipient of the Texas Woman’s University Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award. She is being honored for her distinguished career in higher education.

Jones has served in higher education for more than 20 years with extensive experience as both an academic and administrative leader.As the provost of Drake University, she is the university’s chief academic leader and oversees more than 70 programs of study and approximately 270 full-time faculty members.Prior to being named provost of Drake University in 2012, Jones served as the dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Longwood University in Farmville, Va.

Jones also spent 15 years at the University of Kentucky in a variety of capacities, including: chairwoman of Kentucky President’s Commission on Diversity, associate dean of the Graduate School — Recruitment and Diversity, and director and co-founder of the Center for the Study of Academic Achievement in Learning Environments and associate professor in the College of Education’s Curriculum and Instruction Department.

Jones received her bachelor of science degree in elementary education from TWU in 1974.

She also received both her master’s degree and Ph.D. in education from Texas A&M University.