Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

NCTC briefs

Reunion honors Cox, scholarship recipients

North Central Texas College Ex Students and Friends Association will hold a reunion for recipients of the Mary Josephine Cox Scholarship from 10 a.m. to noon April 20 on the NCTC Gainesville campus.

There will also be a ceremony renaming the NCTC library as the Mary Josephine Cox Library.

The NCTC Board of Regents unanimously voted to rename the NCTC Library Learning Resource facility in Cox’s honor.

The Cox scholarship has helped thousands of Cooke County students attend NCTC for many years.

Cox was an English teacher at Newsome Dougherty Memorial High School in Gainesville and then performed double-duty in 1924 with the opening of Gainesville Junior College on the high school’s campus in south Gainesville. Her personal library was left to the college and became the foundation of the current library.

For more information about the scholarship or the NCTC Foundation, call 940-668-4213 or e-mail .


74 students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

Seventy-four NCTC students were recently honored for their outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship during the spring induction ceremony for new members of into Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Membership is extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Robert Burton is the adviser for NCTC’s Psi Iota chapter.

Spring 2013 officers include vice presidents Temiloluwa Michael Adesanya (fellowship), Riley Caughlin (scholarship), Samuel Davidson (service), Sarah Hanlon (leadership) and Megan Hill (membership).

New PTK inductees at NCTC, by hometown, include:

Argyle: Breanna Christine Wahlberg

Aubrey: Anthony Alley Jett, Juanita Gwen Lillard

Corinth: Mahnoor Aftab Malik, Angela Ann Mazzitelli, Amanda M. Worthington, Richard James Worthington

Denton: Jacob O. Bagwell, Mary Elizabeth Freeman, Anessa Marie Gloor, Renee Denise Grayson, Rebecca Hughes, Sara Texas Kerr, Aaron Napier Martin, Brenna Noel McLaughlin, Angelinah K. Muteti, Natalee Mae Peak

Flower Mound: Weisam Sammy Ayoubi, Oluwagbenga Baiyeri, Emilie Louise Baker, David Barrett Cade, Kathleen Laura Cantu, Kaitlin Marie Danis, Kimberly Lynn Fazzone, Sarah Joan Hanlon, Patrick David Kowalczyk, Yujin Lee, Kathleen T. Luleff, Alison N. Manis, Miranda Marie Porter, Jill Marie Stamm, Nicole Danyelle Stearns, Jenna Leigh Stembridge

Hickory Creek: Jordan Smith

Highland Village: Zane Austin Dayton, Marsha Gay Glasgow, Dana Tkacs Hamilton

Krum: Alex Benjamin Johnson, Deanna Leigh Miller

Lake Dallas: John Chapman, Kendra Nicole Freeman

Lantana: Ryan Gallagher Clancy, Shelby Caylin Vercek

Lewisville: Sarah Nicole Bosserman, Katelin Nichole Diguette, Emmett W. Gooding, Keyonna Janee Swanson

Pilot Point: Samantha Rose Stodola

Ponder: Matthew Scott Page, Frederic Scott Yoc

Sanger: Jessica Shere Carter, Tobi Renae Damron, Nikki Marie Harmtan


‘Breakfast and Books’ event set for April 27

The Denton County North Central Texas College Foundation will present “Breakfast and Books” from 9 a.m. to noon April 27 at the NCTC Flower Mound campus.

Community members are invited to enjoy a complimentary breakfast cooked by the Flower Mound Summit Club and help establish a book fund for NCTC students.

The campus is located at 1200 Parker Square in Flower Mound. For more information, contact Debbie Sharp at .