Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

UNT briefs

Mohr named council’s president-elect

Cynthia Mohr, chair of the Department of Design in the College of Visual Arts and Design, was elected the next president of the Interior Design Educators Council.

IDEC is the professionally recognized association for interior design educators in North America.

She will serve as president-elect the academic year of 2014-15, president in 2015-16 and past president in 2016-17.

Speaker to discuss using gaming to motivate

Scott Nicholson, associate professor in Syracuse University’s School of Information Studies, will speak to students Thursday about how to use gaming to build motivation as part of UNT’s College of Information Colloquium Series.

Nicholson, a UNT alumnus, will discuss how to develop the concept of gamification to build motivation rather than giving rewards, and how this has benefited certain programs, such as summer reading initiatives.

He is currently the director of Syracuse University’s Because Play Matters game laboratory and the Game Designers’ Guild of Syracuse.

The lecture begins at 6 p.m. in Room B155 at UNT’s Discovery Park campus, 3940 N. Elm St. A reception will precede the lecture at 5:30 p.m.

For more information, call the College of Information at 940-565-2445.

Co-founder of Tech Wildcatters to speak

Gabriella Draney, a UNT alumna and co-founder of Tech Wildcatters, a company that helps Dallas technology start-ups get the resources they need, will speak at the College of Business on Friday.

She will speak at 10 a.m. in UNT’s Business Leadership Building, Room 170, as part of the College of Business Distinguished Speaker Series.

Draney has also worked for HP Growth Partners, an early stage venture fund in Dallas, and in private wealth management for Morgan Stanley. She also co-founded an aircraft scheduling software company in 1998, has opened a specialty foods retail store and consulted with numerous Dallas-based start-ups on strategic planning and finance.

Draney is a UNT College of Arts and Sciences board member and on the Dallas Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list.