Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

UNT briefs


Three-minute thesis presentations scheduled

In three minutes or less, nine doctoral students will summarize years of research in a competition for cash prizes Saturday at the University of North Texas.

Students from the College of Arts and Sciences, College of Education and the College of Engineering are participating.

The free event will start at 2 p.m. in Room 255 of the Eagle Student Services Center, 1147 Union Circle.

This is the first time UNT students will participate in the Three Minute Thesis competition, presented by UNT’s Toulouse Graduate School.

The top winner from UNT will continue on to the regional Three Minute Thesis competition and earn $1,000 cash. Second place will get $750, and the people’s choice winner will get $500.


Hospitality student named finalist for award

UNT graduate student Althea Johnson is one of eight finalists for the Hyatt Student Prize, an award that recognizes students across the globe who plan to enter hospitality.

Johnson is enrolled in UNT’s master’s program for international sustainable tourism. She is the only finalist from North America.

The winner is scheduled to be announced Dec. 3 during an award ceremony at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel in France.


Ribbon-cutting event celebrates Rawlins Hall

Although students moved in this fall, UNT will celebrate its newest residence hall in a ribbon-cutting ceremony at noon Thursday.

Rawlins Hall, a 487-bed dorm, is designed for freshmen in the Honors College, though some upperclassmen are living in the hall this year.

Former UNT President Lane Rawlins, for whom the hall is named, will be at the ceremony with his wife and UNT officials, as well as the current president, Neal Smatresk.

The ribbon-cutting will be at noon on the hall’s west side, outside the entrance on Maple Drive.

In case of inclement weather, the ceremony will take place in the hall’s lobby.