Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content
Courtesy photo

Winners in spotlight

Student concerto contest yields show full of solos at UNT

Eight of the best students in the University of North Texas College of Music will be featured with the UNT Symphony Orchestra at 8 p.m. Wednesday in Winspear Hall at the Murchison Performing Arts Center.

The performers are the winners of the annual Concerto Competition at UNT. Six student conductors will direct the orchestra during the concert: Dami Baek, HyunKyung Jang, Conner McMains, Yuya Miyazaki, Jessica Morel and Kevin Pearce.

“The annual Concerto Competition concert includes our most outstanding soloists and we are excited to share with Denton and surrounding communities the talents of these students,” David Itkin, director of orchestral studies at UNT, said in a news release.

The program includes:

• Bottesini Bass Concerto No. 2 (first movement), with Mariechen Meyer, bass, and Dami Baek, conductor;

• Francaix Clarinet Concerto (first movement), with Rucha Trivedi, clarinet, and Kevin Pearce, conductor;

• Gliere Harp Concerto (second movement), with Danielle Cordray, harp, and Connor McMains, conductor;

• R. Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 (third movement), with Jessica Young, horn, and Jessica Morel, conductor;

• Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2 (first movement), with Eunbin Kim, piano, and Dami Baek, conductor;

• Vivaldi Piccolo Concerto RV444 (second and third movements), with Leslie Daniel-Newman, piccolo, and Kevin Pearce, conductor;

• Ravel Don Quichotte a Dulcinee, with Matthew Stump, baritone, and Hyunkyung Jang, conductor; and

• Shostakovich Cello Concerto (first movement), with Kyungseu Na, cello; and Yuya Miyazaki, conductor.

Tickets cost $10 for adults; $8 for seniors, non-UNT students, children and UNT faculty, staff and retirees; and free for UNT students with valid ID. For tickets, visit or call 940-369-7802. The concert will also be streamed online.

Compiled from UNT news releases.


The winners of UNT’s Concerto Competition, held last fall, will be featured Wednesday with the UNT Symphony Orchestra:

• Kyungseu “Dominic” Na, a doctoral student studying cello with Eugene Osadchy. Performs with the Bancroft String Quartet and has performed worldwide as a soloist and chamber musician.

• Mariechen Meyer, a second-year master’s student who studies double bass under Jeff Bradetich. Won second prize in the 2013-14 Mid-Texas Symphony String Competition and has performed as a soloist with the Johannesburg Symphony Orchestra and the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra.

• Danielle Cordray, a junior studying harp under Jaymee Haefner. Won a Julia Herrmann Edwards scholarship in 2013 through the American Harp Society. She regularly performs with various area ensembles, including the Allen Philharmonic Orchestra and the Dallas Civic Wind Ensemble.

• Leslie Daniel Newman, a master’s student and piccolo player who studies flute with Mary Karen Clardy. Currently serves as principal flutist with the Richardson Symphony Orchestra, following her tenure playing piccolo with the Richardson orchestra and the Abilene Philharmonic Orchestra.

• Rucha Trivedi, a master’s student who is studying clarinet with Kimberly Cole Luevano. Is a member of the UNT Wind Symphony, Symphony Orchestra and Center for Chamber Music Woodwind Quintet. Has recorded extensively with the Wind Symphony and can be heard on the premiere recording of Jake Heggie’s Ahab Symphony.

• Jessica Young, a senior studying horn with William Scharnberg. Has participated in several ensembles at UNT, including the Symphony and Concert orchestras, Wind Symphony and Symphonic Band. Performed at the Kent/Blossom Festival in 2013, in the American Wind Symphony Orchestra in 2012 and toured Europe with the Sound of America Honor Band in 2010.

• Eunbin Kim, a junior who studies piano under Gustavo Romero. A native of South Korea. Received the Larry Walz Scholarship to study at UNT after deciding to study abroad for a more diverse education in music.

• Matthew Stump, a master’s student and bass-baritone vocalist who studies in the studios of Stephen Austin and Elvia Puccinelli. Has performed in several UNT operas, most recently in the title role of Sweeney Todd, and won second place in the 2013 Dallas Opera Guild Vocal Competition.