Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Association chooses top films, performers of 2013

Profile image for By Todd Jorgenson / Film Critic
By Todd Jorgenson / Film Critic

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the historical drama 12 Years a Slave as the best film of 2013, according to the results of its 20th annual critics’ poll released.

Denton Record-Chronicle film critic Boo Allen is a member of the association.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were:

* Gravity

* Nebraska

* American Hustle

* Dallas Buyers Club

* Her

* The Wolf of Wall Street

* Inside Llewyn Davis

* Captain Phillips

* Mud

For Best Actor, the association named Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club.

Runners-up included:

* Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years a Slave

* Bruce Dern for Nebraska

* Tom Hanks for Captain Phillips

* Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf of Wall Street

Cate Blanchett was voted Best Actress for Blue Jasmine.

Next in the voting were:

* Sandra Bullock for Gravity

* Judi Dench for Philomena

* Meryl Streep for August: Osage County

* Emma Thompson for Saving Mr. Banks

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club.

He was followed by:

* Michael Fassbender for 12 Years a Slave

* Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips

* Daniel Bruhl for Rush

* Jonah Hill for The Wolf of Wall Street

For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years a Slave.

Runners-up were:

* June Squibb for Nebraska

* Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle

* Julia Roberts for August: Osage County

* Sally Hawkins for Blue Jasmine

Alfonso Cuaron was voted Best Director for Gravity.

Next in the voting were:

* Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave

* Alexander Payne for Nebraska

* David O. Russell for American Hustle

* Martin Scorsese for The Wolf of Wall Street

The association voted Blue is the Warmest Color as the best foreign-language film of the year.

Runners-up included The Hunt, The Great Beauty, The Wind Rises and The Grandmaster.

Twenty Feet From Stardom won for Best Documentary over The Act of Killing, Stories We Tell, Blackfish and The Gatekeeper.

Frozen was named the best animated film of 2013, with Despicable Me 2 as runner-up. John Ridley won the Best Screenplay award for 12 Years a Slave over a tie between Bob Nelson for Nebraska and Spike Jonze for Her.

The award for Best Cinematography went to Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity, followed by Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave. The association gave its award for Best Musical Score to Steven Price for Gravity.

The association voted Fruitvale Station as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 29 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas. For more information, visit

TODD JORGENSON is a former sports editor and film critic of the Denton Record-Chronicle. He is the president of the Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association.