Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

The Place is Argyle: 'Morning Coffee with the Mayor' to begin Saturday

Profile image for Lynn Sheffield Simmons
Lynn Sheffield Simmons

Argyle Mayor Don Moser announced he will be starting "Morning Coffee with the Mayor" this Saturday at 9 a.m. at Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St. He said it will include coffee, doughnuts and me.

Lynn Sheffield Simmons
Lynn Sheffield Simmons

Moser said he wants to be available to meet and spend time with as many citizens as possible.

"I will be having the Saturday get-togethers on the first Saturday of every month, and I look forward to this opportunity to spend time with everyone in this informal setting," he said.

Holiday Shopping Extravaganza set for Saturday

Holiday Shopping Extravaganza is Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at Argyle High School, 191 S. U.S. Highway 377. The event is sponsored by Argyle High School parents and staff.

The event will support Project Graduation, along with assisting area shops and vendors. The admission is free to the public.

P&Z, EDC have new members

The Argyle Town Council recently approved three new members for the Planning & Zoning Commission and four new members for the Economic Development Corporation, as well as four members on the Advisory Board.

David Hawkins, town of Argyle director of community development, announced Gordon Beathge, Rick Bradford and Leona McDade will join Paul Walker, Eric Fields, Wayne Holt, and Richard Spies on the Planning and Zoning Commission for two-year terms starting this month. The commission's duties are to prepare and recommend the adoption of a master plan for future development and the redevelopment of the town.

The Economic Development Corporation's four positions were filled by Ritchie Deffenbaugh, Jose Grimaldo, Kevin Michels and Pamela Minck. They will join Brad Lowry, Justin Fenson, and Brandon R. Moore. The corporation has seven members, serving two-year staggered terms. The corporation was established to endorse a local sales tax, promote and develop commercial enterprises within the town and its extraterritorial jurisdiction and to administer the sales tax revenue.

The Argyle Town Council also appointed Economic Development Corporation advisory directors Erinn Davis, Ryan Nelson, Chris Rosprim and Ginger Gatling, who all will receive information presented to the directors and attend the meetings. However, they cannot vote on matters presented to the directors.


Argyle Lions Club will meet at noon Tuesday at Coffee Tree CafĂ©, 144 Old Town Blvd. in Argyle. For more information, contact Deborah Cottle at

Argyle Chamber of Commerce meets the third Tuesday of every month for breakfast from 7:30 to 9 a.m. at Lantana Golf Club, 800 Golf Club Drive. The chamber office is located inside PointBank, 302 U.S. Highway 377. For more information, visit or call 940-464-9990.

Argyle Senior Center meets every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday in the Community Room at Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St. with exercise beginning at 10 a.m. followed by card games at 11 a.m. The ASC has a monthly luncheon on the third Friday of every month at noon. Those attending are asked to bring a side dish. Anyone age 50 and older is welcome to attend. For more information, call Stella at 940-464-7438 or Karen at 940-464-0506.

Keep Argyle Beautiful meets the second Monday of every month at 5:30 p.m. in PointBank, 302 U.S. Highway 377. Keep Argyle Beautiful preserves and enhances the town's natural environment through visit educational and motivational programs and special events. For more information, visit or email Deborah Cottle at

LYNN SHEFFIELD SIMMONS is the founder and past president of the North Texas Book Festival Inc. She is the author of 10 children's books and two history books on Argyle. Her website is She can be reached at