UNT briefs

Comments () A Text Size
Courtesy photo
A proclamation honoring the University of North Texas A Cappella Choir for its history and 75th anniversary was presented by Texas state Rep. Myra Crownover earlier this month. Joining Crownover, second from left, for the proclamation’s reading are, from left, College of Music Dean James Scott, Texas Rep. Myra Crownover, A Cappella Choir director Jerry McCoy and previous director Henry Gibbons, as well as the choir.

Crownover talks to UNT A Cappella Choir

Representative Myra Crown-over visited UNT earlier this month to read a proclamation honoring the ensemble’s history and 75th anniversary.

“Whereas, over the course of seven and a half decades, the A Cappella Choir has inspired and delighted audiences with memorable performances, and this special anniversary provides a fitting opportunity to celebrate the artistry of this superb ensemble, now, therefore, be it resolved that the 75th anniversary of the University of North Texas A Cappella Choir be commemorated and that all of its members be extended sincere best wishes for continued success,” read the proclamation, in part.

Crownover also noted that the 52-member A Cappella Choir is the premier group of the seven ensembles of the UNT choral program and that the group’s director, Dr. Jerry McCoy, won the 2013 Texas Choral Directors Association Choirmaster Award. The proclamation also acknowledged the history of the ensemble from its founding by Wilfred Bain.

Crownover spoke to the students about her love for the choir and how she tries to make it to each one of their concerts. College of Music Dean James Scott, as well as McCoy and previous director Henry Gibbons, were on hand for the occasion to introduce Crownover and to thank her for her support of public higher education in general and the UNT College of Music in particular.

The proclamation was signed by Crownover and entered into the official record of the Texas Legislature.

Reservations available for Conversations dinner

Great Conversations, the signature annual event conducted by the UNT Honors College, is scheduled for 6 p.m. Feb. 25, and tickets are available now to reserve seats and dinner.

Dallas-Fort Worth and Denton residents who are experts in their fields will act as table hosts for groups of eight to discuss a specific topic.

Participants choose from 30 conversation leaders when they go to the Honors College website to buy tickets for $65, indicating their first, second and third choices.

Proceeds from the event directly benefit Honors College students by supporting scholarships and programming.

The dinner will be held in the clubroom of Apogee Stadium, and conversation leaders will include Skip Hollandsworth, Texas Monthly executive editor; Pam Minick, former Miss Rodeo America; and Bobby Mullins and Yianni Arestis, founders of Armadillo Ale Works.

For more information about Great Conversations, contact Diana Dunklau in the UNT Honors College at 940-565-2474 or diana.dunklau@unt.edu, or go the event’s website, http://honors.unt.edu/great-conversations-2014, to see a complete list of table hosts and to purchase tickets online.

DentonRC.com is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.