In the schools

Comments () A Text Size

Denton school district

Ryan High School

District recognizes Ryan student-athletes

The Denton school district recognized 153 students from Ryan High School as part of its annual program that honors top student-athletes for success on the field and in the classroom.

The district began acknowledging the commitment to excellence by its varsity athletes with the Varsity Academic-Athlete Award.

To receive nomination on this prestigious list, all student-athletes must maintain a cumulative 3.5 GPA through the academic year, represent the district in a positive light on and off the playing field and be approved as a selection by their varsity head coach.

The district recognizes the hard work these student-athletes continuously put forth in and out of the classroom and the example they set for their peers.

The 2011-12 Ryan High honorees include:

Football — Reuben Acton, Carson Beard, Kevin Benitez, Samuel Benton, Mitchell Bridges, Alec Burton, Austin Coker, Isaiah Daniels, Paul Elliott, Wesley Ellis, Cody Finley, Kevin Fleck, Corbin Forest, Xavier Gray, Matthew Griffin, Stefan Horton, Rodrick Jimerson, Benjamin Kimbrough, John Mahannah, Reilly Martinez, Robert “Trey” Mohair, Raymond Moulier, Eduardo Olguin, Saket Patel, Kevin Ray, Carl Rickert, Austin Robertson, Jesse Rojas, Colton Smith, Eric Summerlin, Daniel Telaneus, Dylan Tomor, Ridge Tull, Miguel Vega, Tederick Williams, Jovanta Williams-Blackburn;

Volleyball — Domino Birze, Arissa Chappell, Hailey Foster, Whitney Mills, Hannah Shade, Shelby Smith, Susanna Strange, Ryleigh Thompson, Emily Willis;

Cross country — Luis Barraza, Larabeth Battaglia, Sarah Brown, Samuel DeLeon, Justin Fortune, Kathryn French, Iris Hill, Kathryn Hokamp, Benjamin Jimenez, Michael Kennedy, Emily Tilton;

Golf — Hayden Hilton, Tanner Hilton, Kimberley Juel, Brandon Locklear, Mackenzie O’Keefe;

Tennis — Max Atkinson, Jessica Alonso, Katherine Eastman, Jacob Eastman, Marti Gay, Katherine Ivey, Piper Johnson, Nathan Kam, Diana Pena, Erik Powell, Tyler Smith, Jameson Tischler, Preston Tunnell Wilson, Catherine Tryon, Emily Williams;

Basketball — Jonathan Brooks, Jefferyonna Holley, Cody Hoppie, Wyatt Johnson, Nicholas Jones, Teana Ogden, Brittney Buckhanan, Briel Henderson, Imani Henderson, Kimani Henderson, Alyssa Murphy-Hosford, Zaria Silvia, Rasheeba Walker;

Soccer — Danella Bunselmeyer, Delaney Bunselmeyer, Regan Dowling, Kiely Dowling, Lindsey Eccles, Ashlee Garza-Beintinger, Haley Grizzaffi, Kristian Hjorth, Makayla Knabe, Kathryn Knabe, Alvaro Morales, Juan Neavez, Brenna O’Donnell, Vincent Opara, Sneha Paswan, Bruno Ponce, Logan Rodgers, Carissa Sanders, Efrain Serrano, Lauren Smith, Courtney Wilson, Erica Yarbrough;

Swimming and diving — Cole Anthony, Devan Brumbaugh, Sarah Dickerson, Shayla Henry, Aaron Lawrence, Sara Ray, Savannah Seals, Catherine Starrett, Amanda Sutherland, Michael Winfrey;

Softball – Nicole Brimberry, Kristen Cope, Emmalie Craig, Kayla Cunningham, Darlenis De Los Santos, Brooke Ford, Haleigh Huneycutt, Madison Parham, Jennifer Saavedra, Skyla Spencer, Shelby Sylvera, Sydney Wells, Erika Williamson, Jazmin Woodward;

Baseball — Kraig Behrens, Carlos Cabrera, Robert Damore, Matthew Febre, Jared Garrand, Connor Gohlke, Caleb Horton, James Marshall, Christopher McKeehan, Michael McNatt, Mitchell McNatt, Matthew Middleton, Jeremy Santos, Coleman Carpenter; and

Athletic training — Anne Beckmann, Clarissa Domingo, Taylor Novak and Katelyn Smith.\uFFFF

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.