In The Schools

Comments () A Text Size

Denton ISD

Fine Arts

DISD well represented in Children’s Choir

More than 90 students from seven schools will represent the Denton school district in the 2014 North Texas Children’s Choir.

The 93 students are among 250 elementary students through sixth grade selected for the choir throughout the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

The North Texas Children’s Choir will perform Jan. 25 at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. Tickets to the event are $22 and can be purchased at

Students from Denton selected for the choir include:

Ginnings Elementary School — Fifth grade: Kylie Meadows, Matthew Munoz, Kandace Needum, Carlos Puga and Ashley Walker. Fourth grade: Samuel Brien, Frida Gomez, Reid Layton, Kayden Needum and Kinley Wheeler. Courtney Karns is the music teacher.

Houston Elementary — Fifth grade: Ethan Chen, Emma Earhart, Jared Harden, Jacob Harden, Cody Marshall, Abby Shirley, Jayden Toombs, Chaynie Urban and Jake Wesson. Fourth grade: Margaret Nicholson, Marlene Meernik and Avery Parker. Christine Martin-Beutner is the music teacher.

Ryan Elementary — Fifth grade: Anna Borges, Lauryn Castro, Jasmine Coleman, Kaylie Edwards, Bryn Eshelman, Lizbeth Lopez, Fayth Maxwell-McCoy and Lindsay Walker; Fourth grade: Diana Barba, Jack Croom, Grace Fleitman, Whitten Ford, Arden Ogilvie, Jaquelyn Pena and Gwyneth Zavala. Tiffany Bowen is the music teacher.

Wilson Elementary — Fifth grade: Cody Avery, Sophia Appleton, Riley Briggs, Mary Davenport, Thomas Hudson, Jenna Sparks and Sophia Verges; Fourth grade: Issac Bower, Lyndee Darling, Marisa Hamner, Travis Harris and Ryan Trevino. David Rowland is the music teacher.

Harpool Middle School — Sixth grade: Valarie Abraham, Zandry Andrade, Gaige Bigrigg, Cristian Bourgeois, Katie Bond, Grace Christensen, Mia Cooper, Jacob Cowherd, Grant Deffenbaugh, Grace Duncan, Kiersten Farris, Nico Fry, Logan Hickman, Hannah Johnston, Ryan Knight, Carson Ozmer, Lexi Quilty, Emily Reyna, Josh Roberts and Cam Thrailkill. Nathan Dame and Ashley Delaney are the choir instructors.

Myers Middle School — Sixth grade: Ashlynn Burr, Tristan Mack, Taylor Narrell, Chloee Patrick-Gonzalez, Kania Phillips, Madison Rogers, Joshua Smith and Triniti Washington-Pitts. Jenna Smith Leonard is the choir instructor.

Strickland Middle School — Sixth grade: Katie Barrilleaux, Morgan Cayce, Victor Campusano, Devin Freeman, Benji Harrison, Nicholas Hines, Keylan Johnson, Alyssa Laughter, Toledo Martin, Katie Munoz, Kaleb Melvin, Noah Norried, Jackson Parham, Olivia Parham, Madelynn Shanks and Annetth Velazquez. Amy Logan and Kevin Rybowicz are the choir instructors.

Students win AP Scholar Awards

Several students from the Denton school distrtict were named to the 2013 AP Scholar Awards recently released by The College Board.

AP Scholar Awards recognize students demonstrating “outstanding college-level achievement” in Advanced Placement course and on exams. The Denton school district will recognize its local award recipients at a school board meeting at 6 p.m. Jan. 21 at 1307 N. Locust St.

Denton students were cited in three categories. The AP Scholars with Distinction awards were distributed to students with an average score of 3.5 and a score a 3 or higher on five or more AP tests. The AP Scholars with Honor recognizes students with an average score of at least 3.25 on all exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams. The AP Scholar scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

AP Scholars with Distinction:

Denton — Senior William Root.

Guyer — Seniors Phillip Carnell and Chimezie Ileje.

AP Scholars with Honor:

Denton — Senior Omar Akram.

Guyer — Seniors Bailey Lewis, Kayla Mullin, Jackie Peterson, Zaara Qasim, Charis Rodgers, Christina Suikkari and Natalie Windle.

Ryan — Seniors Aaron Lawrence and Thomas Reidy.

AP Scholars:

Denton — Seniors Sean Burrows, John Carmona, Emily Fu, Dennis Lii Lang, Neel Shroff, Yiming Su; juniors Varada Salimath, Andy Ye and Kevin Ye; and sophomore Emily Hu.

Guyer — Seniors Isaac Akintitan, Aurelia Allen, Bronson Bledsoe, Kendall Bose, Connor Bourgeois, Maxwell Conradi, Allison Flack, Madison Franklin, John Gilbert, Kade Goodchild, Thomas Gray, Joshua Jordan, Ashley Krinner, Logan Lockhart, Troy Lucas, Sophie Martin, Rachel Mercer, Jimmy Nguyen, Devin Norton, Jessica Pink, David Quintanilla, Jordan Reyes, Teodoro Santiesteban, Natalie Seavey, Michaela Thompson, Adam Vollmar, Travis Ware and Esther Weaver.

Ryan — Seniors Jared Allen, David (Marshall) Bielefeld, James Crowe, Margo Fields, Katelyn Finn, Melissa Gonzalez, Reilly Martinez and Janeciya Steward.

Selwyn College Preparatory School

Student advances to county Spelling Bee

Hasan Murbarak will represent Selwyn College Preparatory School in the Denton County Spelling Bee later this month.

The sixth-grader advanced to the county bee after correctly spelling 200 words in the Selwyn spelling bee contest. Students in grades four through eight competed in the school bee.

Qualifying as runner-up in the school bee was fourth-grade student Claire Pettit, according to school officials.

The Denton County Spelling Bee champion will advance to The Dallas Morning News 56th annual Regional Spelling Bee in March with a chance at advancing to the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C., in May.

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.