In the schools

Comments () A Text Size

Denton ISD

Denton High School

Fillies announce 2014-15 squad, officers

The Denton High School Fillies drill team recently announced members for its 2014-15 squad.

Elected officers for the Fillies’ upcoming season are captain Tiana Martinez; senior lieutenants Hannah Asis, Paisha Brown, Lori Kyser, Carmen Sanchez and Morgan Woods; and junior lieutenant Emma Beiser.

The squad’s elected social officers are Jaira Poole, president; Clysta Meza, vice president; Alyssa Padilla, historian; Shaelynn Wolfe, treasurer; and Marlayna Kroma, secretary.

Members who made the squad after recent tryouts include:

Seniors — Hannah Asis, Sha’Coria Brookins, Paisha Brown, Brittany Cisneros, Breanna Courson, Flor De la Garza, Maria Gunn, Morgan Gunn, Rachel Henderson, Simorea Jefferson, Katie Johnson, Lori Kyser, Jada McCall, Clysta Meza, Jocelynne Moreno, Flroibel Nunez, Kiersten O’Bryan, Alyssa Padilla, Jaira Poole, Carmen Sanchez, Amira Spikes and Morgan Woods.

Juniors — Emma Besier, Valerie Bershell, Morgan Case, Rebekah Cheek, Logan Crumpley, Abbey Dacus, Jennifer De la Rosa, Stephanie Duran, Monet Ellis, Arlette Gallegos, Samantha Guerrero, Hagar Hudspeth, Marlayna Kroma, Evelyn Lopez, Tiana Martinez, Jocelin Meza, Nathaly Miranda, Sandivel Pina, Iesha Sang, Victoria Santiel, Cierra Sasiain, Amaya St. Louis, Shaelynn Wolfe and Madison Wommack.

Sophomores — Madison Bench, Miranda Davis, Hallie Evans, Carrisa Farris, Adonica Garcia, Justus Geary, Meredith Howard, Elon Lewis, Martha Meza, Briana Montes, Hayley Naples, Daisha Oruru, Katelyn Rivas, Aischa Rogers, Brittany Sanders, Issabella Serrani, Maja Stolt, Blessing Sundire and Gabriella Webster.

The Fillies are led by director Kerri Burgess and assistant director Kristina Shelburne.

Guyer High School

Guyer alumna accepted into Teach for America

Iesha Mclaughlin, a 2009 Guyer High School graduate, was recently accepted into the 2014 Teach for America teaching corps, according to a media release from the organization.

Mclaughlin will teach in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. Prior to joining the teaching corps, Mclaughlin was a client services representative for Invesco Investment Services, according to Teach for America. As a member of the corps, Mclaughlin is committing to teach two years in a high-need urban or rural public school.

In the area

Five area teachers take part in institute

Five area teachers recently participated in a professional development institute sponsored by Humanities Texas and the University of North Texas.

The institute, “America in the 1860s,” was conducted at UNT and had 48 participants. Leading scholars led presentations and small-group workshops on topics including the causes, events and legacy of the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln’s administration, and Reconstruction and American writing on the Civil War, according to a media release.

Participants included Rebecca Meuse Glass of Crownover Middle School, Nonie Phillips of McMath Middle School, Kathleen Solomon of Denton High School, Allison Taylor of Bettye Myers Middle School, and Hollie Teague of Sanger High School.

“America in the 1860s” is one of five teacher institutes Humanities Texas is sponsoring across the state this summer.

Merit scholarship recipients named

Several area students have been announced as the winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities.

According to a National Merit Scholarship Corp. media release, the area students were among 1,600 scholarship winners announced Monday. In May, 2,500 other college-sponsored scholarship award winners were announced. The college-sponsored scholarships offer between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate students and are being financed by 181 colleges and universities from 44 states and the District of Columbia.

Area winners of college-sponsored scholarships include Kathryn B. Harrington of Bartonville, who is a student at the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science at the University of North Texas; TAMS student Khang-Christopher D. Truong of Cedar Park; TAMS student Kinnari V. Ruikar of Frisco; Flower Mound High School students Joseph D. Chamberlain, Leila E. LeSueur and Patrick Saul, all of Flower Mound; Molly E. Macke of Flower Mound, a student at Flower Mound’s Marcus High School; Austin G. Kinley of Highland Village, a student at Marcus High; Corrie Tung of Flower Mound, who is home-schooled; TAMS students Roja R. Manohar and Maneesh K. Rao, both of Plano; and Emily M. McCalley of Plano, a student at Coram Deo Academy in Flower Mound.

Northwest ISD

NISD superintendent named regional winner

Northwest school district Superintendent Karen G. Rue was recently named the 2014 Region 11 Superintendent of the Year.

Rue will represent Region 11 in the race for the state Superintendent of the Year award. All top region superintendents will be interviewed Aug. 22 and 23, and five will be selected finalists for the state award, which will be announced in September at the Texas Association of School Administrators/Texas Association of School Boards Convention in Dallas.

Online volunteer registration now open

People interested in volunteering at Northwest schools for the upcoming school year can now register through the district’s online Northwest Volunteers in Public Schools system.

To register in the VIPS system, visit Volunteers must pass a criminal background check.

For more information, call Phil Beckman, the district’s Partners in Education specialist, at 817-215-0172.

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.