Newcomer challenges Burgess for District 26

Comments () A Text Size

Candidate filing has come and gone again, with the only change this time being a Democratic challenger for U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess’ District 26 seat.

Political candidates had a second filing period to secure a place on the primary ballot for the court-ordered May 29 election date.

Denton County Republicans drew multiple candidates in 12 races.

The Democrats fielded four uncontested races in the primary and a contested race for the party chairman between incumbent Phyllis Wolper and John McClelland.

Political newcomer David Sanchez, a Democrat from Flower Mound, filed Friday to take on longtime Congressman Burgess, R-Lewisville.

Neither drew a challenger from within their party, so they can look forward to the November election.

“I like our chances. I think a lot of people are ready for change,” Sanchez said. “There’s a growing Hispanic community I don’t think he’s represented fairly and there’s a lot of animosity against his promises he made when he was running and being the health care candidate.”

Sanchez said he was dissatisfied with what he has seen in the area and felt he needed to run.

Burgess, who has served in Congress since 2002, said it is a tougher climb for a Democratic candidate based on how the lines are drawn in the 26th District, but he won’t take the November race lightly.

“It would be foolish not to recognize the unsettled nature of the electorate,” Burgess said. “I don’t know if that is likely to diminish going through Election Day.”

BJ LEWIS can be reached at 940-566-6875. His e-mail address is



Here is a list of positions that will be on the 2012 primary ballot as well as the candidates who filed by Friday’s deadline.


Tax assessor/collector

Michelle French, Republican

Marc Moffitt, Republican


Benny Parkey, Republican (I)

William Travis, Republican

Jesse Flores, Republican

Precinct 1 county commissioner

Hugh Coleman, Republican (I)

Precinct 3 county commissioner

Bobbie Mitchell, Republican (I)

Precinct 1 constable

Jim Dotson, Republican (I)

Precinct 2 constable

Michael Truitt, Republican (I)

Hal Grant, Republican

Precinct 3 constable

Barry Minoff, Republican

Jerry Raburn, Republican (I)

Precinct 4 constable

Tim Burch, Republican

Sam Mooney, Republican

Precinct 5 constable

Dale Chegwidden, Republican

George Riojas, Republican

Doug Boydston, Republican

Precinct 6 constable

Ron Smith, Republican (I)

Douglas Lee, Republican

Kenneth Williams, Democrat

16th District judge

Sherry Shipman, Republican

Derbha Jones, Republican

362nd District judge

Bruce McFarling, Republican (I)

393rd District judge

Doug Robison, Republican (I)

431st District judge

Jonathan Bailey, Republican (I)

District 63 state representative

Tan Parker, Republican (I)

District 64 state representative

Myra Crownover, Republican (I)

Mike Brucia, Republican

Mary Brown, Democrat

District 65 state representative

Mike Hennefer, Republican

David Loerwald, Republican

Ron Simmons, Republican

Gary Brown, Democrat

District 88 state representative

Amber Fulton, Republican

Pat Fallon, Republican

District 30 state senator

Craig Estes, Republican (I)

Jim Herblin, Republican

District 12 state senator

Jane Nelson, Republican (I)

District 26 U.S. representative

Michael Burgess, Republican (I)

David Sanchez, Democrat

Denton County Democratic Party chairman

Phyllis Wolper (I)

John McClelland

Denton County Republican Party chairman

Dianne Edmondson (I)

(I) denotes incumbent

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.