Denton council incumbents win, Hawkins elected

Comments () A Text Size

With final voting results, three incumbents retain their seats and a local coffeehouse owner joins the Denton city council.

Joey Hawkins held a substantial lead over his opponent in the race for the open District 4 seat.

Council member Dalton Gregory has collected almost 80 percent of the early votes in District 2, leading challengers Alfredo Sanchez and Travis Trawick.

In Place 3, council member Jim Englebrecht collected almost 65 percent of the votes, holding a wide lead over challengers Griffen Rice and Brendan Carroll.

Hawkins, running for District 4, which is being vacated by Chris Watts, collected more than 70 percent of the vote in his race against Phillip Kregel.

Proposition 1 touting a gas line near Denton Airport to attract new industrial business passed handily with almost 73 percent of the vote.

In the Denton school board races, Mia Price collected more than 78 percent of the votes in her race against Donna Woodfork, and Charles Stafford was leading Prudence Sanchez with more than 74 percent of the early votes.


Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.