And here are the final results

Comments () A Text Size

Election at a glance

With all 158 voting precincts tallied, some races revealed clear winners and at least one race that finished with a mere 39-vote difference.

In the County Criminal Court No. 3, only 39 votes separated incumbent David Garcia and challenger George Mitcham with Garcia in the lead.

County Judge Mary Horn maintained a clear majority against her two challengers - Paul Ruggiere and Sherman Swartz - to continue her role for another four years.

Incumbent State Rep. Myra Crownover fought off a challenge from the right, edging past GOP opponent Read King in the Republican primary.

Crownover received 54.9 percent of the vote in complete but unofficial returns.

Incumbent Jesse Flores, seeking a full term return to the position he was appointed to last year, was unseated by Johnny Hammons, who captured about 65 percent of the votes in the Precinct 1 Constable race.

A runoff election on May 27 is slated for three races including the district attorney's seat and both Precincts 4 and 5 justice of the peace races.

The unofficial but final Election Day voting totals are listed along with early vote totals.

The following are the latest figures available from the Denton County Elections Administration office:


County judge

(158 of 158 precincts reporting)

Mary Horn (I) 54.14% or 18,461 (W)

Paul Ruggiere 33.33% or 11,363

Sherman Swartz 12.53% or 4,273

District attorney

(158 of 158 precincts reporting)

Paul Johnson (I) 43.33% or 14,562 (R)

Karen Alexander 39.02% or 13,112 (R)

Hank Paine 17.65% or 5,933

County clerk

(158 of 158 precincts reporting)

Juli Anne Luke 61.22% or 18,764 (W)

D’Lynne Shelton  38.78% or 11,886

County Criminal Court No. 3

(158 of 158 precincts reporting)

David Garcia (I) 50.06% or 15,844 (W)

George Mitcham 49.94% or 15,805

County Criminal Court No. 5

(158 of 158 precincts reporting)

Vic Rivera 36.55% or 11,255

Coby Waddill 63.45% or 19,538 (W)

Justice of the Peace Pct. 4

(29 of 29 precincts reporting)

J.W. Hand (I) 38.98% or 3,307 (R)

Al Filidoro 17.51% or 1,485

Harris Hughey 26.56% or 2,253 (R)

Scott Smith 16.95% or 1,438

Justice of the Peace Pct. 5

(24 of 24 precincts reporting)

Mike Brucia 11.33% or 698

Cynthia Mitchell 23.35% or 1,439 (R)

Paul Moore 18.06% or 1,113

Mike Oglesby 19.13% or 1,179

Danny Spindle 18.35% or 1,131 (R)

Mike Sweet 9.78% or 603

Justice of the Peace Pct. 6

(23 of 23 precincts reporting)

Gary W. Blanscet 52.77% or 2,302 (W)

Tom Washington 47.23% or 2,060

Constable Precinct 1

(30 of 30 precincts reporting)

Jesse Flores (I) 34.57% or 2,164

Johnny Hammons 65.43% or 4,096 (W)

Texas House District 64

(44 of 44 precincts reporting)

Myra Crownover (I) 54.86% or 6,001 (W)

Read King 45.14% or 4,937 votes

Congressional District 26

(129 of 129 precincts reporting)

Michael Burgess (I) 82.62% or 26,704 (W)

Joel A. Krause 15.69% or 5,071

Divenchy Watrous 1.69% or 547


None of the six Democratic candidates in Denton County faced a primary election opponent.

- Dawn Cobb

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.