Argyle teacher recognized during awards ceremony

Comments () A Text Size

Brenda Williams, a fifth-grade science teacher at Argyle Intermediate School, was one of 40 finalists of teachers and principals recognized by grocer H-E-B on Saturday at the 13th annual Excellence in Education Awards ceremony in Houston.

Finalists were recognized on stage and presented with a crystal trophy.

“It was a good evening to be a teacher because they made teachers feel like they were very appreciated,” Williams said. “I was very appreciative of H-E-B recognizing outstanding teachers for their dedication and hard work. It was just a really great event for all teachers involved in it.”

Williams was in the running for H-E-B’s Leadership Award, which went to one elementary and one secondary teacher with 10 to 20 years classroom experience and carried a $10,000 cash prize and a $10,000 grant for the winning educator’s school. Leadership awards went to Nicholas Solis, an elementary teacher with the Del Valle school district and Bart Taylor, a high school teacher from the College Station school district.

In March, while teaching a class on complete and incomplete metamorphosis, Williams was surprised in her classroom by district administrators and H-E-B representatives with news she was a finalist for a H-E-B’s 2014 Excellence in Education Award. As a finalist, she received flowers, balloons, a cake, and $1,000 each for herself and Argyle Intermediate. This is Williams’ first time being selected finalist for a state award.

Eight educators, two school districts, an early childhood agency and one small and one large public school board were announced winners at the event and were awarded $430,000 in cash prizes and grants.

Other categories in addition to the Leadership Award, included Rising Star, which recognizes teachers with fewer than 10 years experience and comes with $5,000 each for the winning educator and their school; Lifetime Achievement, awarded to educators with more than 20 years experience and came with a $25,000 each for the winner and their school; School Principal, which came with a $10,000 cash prize for the honoree and a $25,000 for their school; Early Childhood and School Board, two awards that carried a $25,000 cash prize; and School District, which gave a $50,000 cash prize to its small school district recipient and a $100,000 cash prize to the large school district honoree.

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.