Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content
Staff Photographer

Two Denton-area candidates file in final hour

One Democrat and one Republican filed for office late Monday, changing the shape of the local races for state Senate and Denton County Commissioners Court. 

Bridgeport City Council member Kevin Lopez, 43, filed to run as a Democrat in Senate District 30. Lopez is a firefighter and paramedic for the city of Arlington. He finishes his first term on the Bridgeport City Council in May 2018.

No other Democrat filed for the seat, so Lopez will likely face an independent candidate and the winner of the Republican primary in the fall. Denton City Council member Keely Briggs announced she intends to run for the seat as an independent. The incumbent, Craig Estes, a Republican from Wichita Falls, is opposed by Pat Fallon, a Republican from Prosper. 

Dianne Edmondson, 76, filed for the Republican nomination to Denton County Commissioner Precinct 4. A resident of Robson Ranch, Edmondson was the longest serving chair of the Denton County Republican Party, serving from 2002 to 2015. She is the fourth Republican to file for the seat being vacated by Andy Eads, who is running for county judge. 

Former Precinct 4 County Commissioner Jim Carter, 86, also filed on Monday to return to the office that he previously served from 1999 through 2006. He was defeated in a Republican primary runoff in 2006 by Eads. 

Two other Republicans also are running for the nomination. Itamar Gelbman, 35, a Flower Mound businessman who served one term on the Flower Mound Town Council, and Brenda Latham, 48, of Bartonville, a project manager who served on the school board of Lewisville ISD from 2010-16, have also filed for County Commissioner Precinct 4.