Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Early voting begins

Profile image for By Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe / Staff Writer
By Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe / Staff Writer

Those sans registration cards can still cast ballot if they provide other ID

Voters might not get their registration cards before early voting begins today, but one isn’t needed if a voter can provide some other proof of identification.

There are 22 early voting locations. Denton County is holding a joint election so area voters can cast a ballot for local races at any location. Early voting ends May 8 and the election is May 12.

The election includes local races for city and town councils, school boards, and directors for special taxing districts. Corinth also has a proposition to renew its 1/4-cent sales tax for street maintenance, and Bartonville has a local option election on whether to allow liquor sales.

“Because of the lawsuit over redistricting, we didn’t get the voter registration cards in the mail until Thursday,” said Frank Phillips, Denton County Elections Administrator. “But for us, it doesn’t matter at all. Registered voters are in the [computer] system.”

Precinct numbers have changed — that was also part of redistricting, Phillips said. If a voter wants to look up their sample ballot, he recommended going to a conversion chart on and typing in the old precinct number to find the new precinct number and the corresponding ballot.

“If you still have questions after that, please call us and we’ll try to lead you in the right direction,” Phillips said.

Voters don’t need to worry about complying with Texas’ new voter identification law either, Phillips said. The law is still being reviewed for its constitutionality.

The May 12 election is for local races only, not primary elections.

Voters in the cities of Argyle, Denton and Pilot Point have full ballots, with mayoral races in Denton, Krugerville and Pilot Point. Other cities have at least one race on the ballot, including Aubrey, Bartonville, Corinth, Lake Dallas, Ponder, Sanger and Shady Shores. School districts in Argyle, Denton, Pilot Point and Sanger also have races for board seats.

Candidates in many other cities and school districts did not draw opponents, and those elections were canceled.

PEGGY HEINKEL-WOLFE can be reached at 940-566-6881. Her e-mail address is .


Early voting begins today and continues through May 8. Polls are open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, with extended hours of 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 7 and 8. Registered voters can cast a ballot at any of these early voting locations.

•  Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St.

•  Aubrey Area Library Community Room, 226 Countryside Drive

•  Carrollton Public Library, 4220 N. Josey Lane

•  Celina ISD Administration Building, 205 S. Colorado Drive

•  Corinth City Hall, 3300 Corinth Parkway

•  Steven E. Copeland Government Center, 1400 FM424 in Cross Roads

•  Joseph A. Carroll Building, 401 W. Hickory St. in Denton

•  Flower Mound Police and Municipal Court Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick Road

•  Collin College Preston Ridge Campus, 9700 Wade Blvd. in Frisco

•  Frisco Fire Station No. 4, 4485 Cotton Gin Road

•  Frisco Lakes Amenities Center, 7277 Frisco Lakes Drive

•  Heritage Lakes Clubhouse, 3949 Village Blvd. in Frisco

•  Highland Village Municipal Complex, 1000 Highland Village Road

•  Justin Municipal Building, 415 N. College St.

•  Lake Dallas City Hall, 212 Main St.

•  Lewisville Municipal Annex, 1197 W. Main St.

•  Little Elm Town Hall Center, 100 W. Eldorado Parkway

•  Pilot Point ISD Administration Building, 829 S. Harrison St.

•  First Baptist Church Roanoke, 209 N. Pine St.

•  First Baptist Church of Sanger, 708 S. 5th St.

•  The Colony Government Center, 6301 Main St.

• Svore Municipal Building (Trophy Club MUD), 100 Municipal Drive in Trophy Club