Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Polls open for runoff election

Voters will head to the polls today to vote in primary election runoffs for both local and Texas political seats.

Polls opened at 7 a.m. this morning and will remain open until 7 p.m. this evening.

Following today’s vote, Denton County will have a winner in the race for the Republican Constable Precinct 5 seat. Dale Chegwidden, an investigator in the district attorney’s office, faces Doug Boydston, a Denton police officer, in Tuesday’s GOP runoff for constable.

In the May 29 election, Chegwidden received 44 percent of the votes, only slightly more than Boydston’s 42.4 percent. Precinct 5 Deputy Constable George Riojas received 13.6 percent of the votes.

Precinct 5 covers the largest area among the county’s six precincts, spanning the northern part of the county from the Wise County line to the Collin County line. It includes parts of Denton.

The candidates seek to replace former Constable Ken Jannereth, who was denied his peace officer’s license in April following a February 2010 criminal mischief conviction.