Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Record-Chronicle wins Philbin Award

The Denton Record-Chronicle won a legal reporting award from the Dallas Bar Association.

Dawn Cobb, managing editor, and Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe, city reporter, and Lowell Brown, former city reporter now working for the Waco Tribune-Herald, won the Stephen Philbin Award in the category of Suburban Newspapers.

In “Grand jury system questioned,” the reporters investigated the grand jury “key-man” system in Denton County and uncovered some troubling facts, according to a news release from the Dallas Bar Association on the 29th annual event earlier this week.

Other winners included:

The Dallas Morning News courts reporter Jennifer Emily in spot news category for a June report about a man convicted of trying to swindle an elderly Dallas socialite out of her mansion.

DMN transportation writer Michael Lindenberger and editor Mike Drago won in the newspaper feature category for a January story about lax ethics and insider deals at the North Texas Tollway Authority.

The newspaper series award went to DMN criminal justice reporters Selwyn Crawford and Diane Jennings for their June articles about a man falsely accused of rape in the late 19th century.

A team from KTVT (Channel 11) won the grand prize for an investigation into medical care standards at Dawson State Jail. The recipients were Ginger Allen, Lisa Blegen, Jack Douglas, Mike Lozano and Daniel Penz.

Radio/television news report: Glenn Dickson, Phil Fleming, Becky Oliver and Donna Ressl of KDFW (Channel 4).

Best magazine feature: Mike Mooney of D Magazine.

Electronic media: Claire St. Amant of Preston Hollow People.

Lawyer and journalist Jeffrey Toobin was the keynote speaker at the awards ceremony Monday at the Belo Mansion.

Established in 1983, the Philbin Awards honor Stephen Philbin, a Dallas attorney and media law expert who died in 1982 from leukemia.

— Staff report