Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Two mayors file for re-election

Profile image for By John D. Harden / Staff Writer
By John D. Harden / Staff Writer

Other seats up for grabs across 10 cities have yet to draw contestants

Ten area mayoral seats are on the ballot this election, and only two incumbents have filed so far. But it’s very early in the process, officials say.

The filing period for the May 11 election began last week and ends March 1.

As of Wednesday afternoon, the only area mayoral candidates to file were Corinth Mayor Paul Ruggiere, who was first elected to the City Council in 2009, and Copper Canyon Mayor Sue Tejml, who was first elected to the council in 2004.

Mayoral seats also are up this election in Aubrey, Argyle, Double Oak, Krum, Justin, Oak Point, Ponder and Shady Shores, in addition to other council seats. So far, no races in those cities are contested.

City and town secretaries in area municipalities said they’ve seen residents express interest in running for mayor or council but incumbents and potential challengers have yet to file.

“No one has filed. Two people have picked up packets, but I have not had anyone return them,” said Amy Bockes, Oak Point’s city secretary.

Some secretaries said potential candidates tend to wait and see who files before throwing their hat in the ring. Officials said they typically see more people file during the last week of the filing period.

Ruggiere said he prefers to file early.

“I knew I was going to run, so there was no need to wait,” he said. “I think it just depends on the person and what they decide to do.”

City leaders who have expressed interest in developing plans for economic growth have said this election will give voters a chance to pick which path their city should take.

In recent months, Argyle, Aubrey, Justin and Pilot Point have made efforts to address redevelopment and infrastructure needs.

Some municipalities have passed ordinances adopting new development plans, and some are in the first stage of revamping their comprehensive plans.

However, some area residents say it’s time for a change.

Argyle resident Michael Whitefield said he is thinking about running for mayor.

“I’ve been thinking about this for a few months now, and now I need to make a choice,” Whitefield said. “I think every election is a big election, because as an official, you’re responsible for helping a city get its ball rolling or maintain the momentum.”

To enter a race, residents need to pick up an election packet at their city hall. Each packet outlines requirements each candidate must meet and state laws they must follow when running for office. The packets must be completed and returned to the city or town hall by March 1.

JOHN D. HARDEN can be reached at 940-566-6882. His e-mail address is .


Following is a list of municipalities with mayor and council seats on the ballot for the May 11 election, along with the current officeholder:


Mayor, Gary Hammett

Place 3, Roy Magno

Place 5, Jeff Perry


Mayor, Matt Smith

Council, David Wintermute

Council, Bonny Hanyes

Copper Canyon

Mayor, Sue Tejml

Place 2, Jeff Mangum

Place 4, Charlie Nicholas


Mayor, Paul Ruggiere

Place 2, Jim Mayfield

Place 5, Bruce Hanson

Double Oak

Mayor, vacant

Council, Ara Minassian

Council, Steve Durbin


Place 1, Thurman Bridges

Place 3, Jeff Parrent

Place 5, Michael Starr


Mayor, Terri Wilson

Council, Joe Beall

Council, Michael Wilkes

Hickory Creek

Council, Lynn Clark

Council, Chris Gordon

Council, Eric Wiser


Mayor, Greg Scott

Council, Diane Rasor

Council, Conrad Jimison

Lake Dallas

Place 1, James Harper

Place 3, E.W. Brooks

Place 5, Karl Hammond

Little Elm

Place 2, Stephanie Shoemaker

Place 4, Chip Norman

Oak Point

Mayor, Jim Wohletz

Council, Tom Bahl

Council, Chris Sweet

Pilot Point

Place 2, Bob Heuman

Place 3, Mark Roth

Place 5, Wesley Cordell


Mayor, Scott McCarty

Place 2, Karen Finley

Place 4, Alan Gorman

Providence Village

Place 1, Chris McCroskey

Place 2, Lisa Garcia

Place 4, Mike Thompson

Shady Shores

Mayor, Jerry Willams

Council, John Reedy

Council, Lance Sandmann


Place 3, Russell Martin

Place 4, vacant

Place 5, Scott Stephens