Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Gonzalez reappointed to fire protection board

Profile image for By Megan Gray / Staff Writer
By Megan Gray / Staff Writer

Denton County Department of Emergency Services Director Jody Gonzalez was reappointed to the Texas Commission on Fire Protection this week by Gov. Rick Perry.

Perry appointed four members to the commission for six-year terms. The commission enforces statewide fire service standards and provides education and assistance to fire service personnel, according to a news release from Perry’s office.

The other three appointed were Joseph Gutheinz of Pearland, John T. McMakin of LaRue and Leonardo “Lenny” Perez of Brownsville.

Gonzalez, of Krugerville, also is a member of the International Associations of Fire Chiefs and Emergency Managers, the North Central Texas Council of Governments’ Regional Emergency Preparedness Advisory Council and the Denton County Emergency Amateur Radio Association. He is a member and past president of the Texas Fire Marshals Association and a member and past first vice president of the Texas Chapter of the International Association of Arson Investigators, according to the release.

A spokeswoman for Perry’s office said Gonzalez has been appointed to the Texas Commission on Fire Protection since 2007. All appointments are subject to state Senate confirmation, she said.

MEGAN GRAY can be reached at 940-566-6885 and via Twitter at @MGrayNews.