Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Record-Chronicle work earns four awards

The Denton Record-Chronicle won the Community Service Award at the annual Texas Associated Press Managing Editors convention this past weekend for an in-depth series on the Affordable Care Act.

The Class 2A award was one of four awards recognizing the Record-Chronicle for work in 2012.

The award comes after a collaborative effort between the newspaper and the Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism at the University of North Texas. The course is led by Professor George Getschow, a Pulitzer Prize finalist and creator of the Mayborn writers conference held in July.

The in-depth series on the Affordable Care Act required extensive review of the act, numerous interviews with health care professionals and recipients and a review of the Massachusetts health reform on which the national law was based.

“It was important for us to tackle this issue due to the effects on the health care industry and on every resident in the U.S.,” Denton Record-Chronicle Managing Editor Dawn Cobb said. “It is indeed a great honor to be recognized for our efforts.”

Record-Chronicle staffers who worked on the series included Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe, Karina Ramirez and former staffers Rachel Mehlhaff and Lowell Brown. Mayborn students who worked on the project included Beth Langton, J.K. Nickell, Eric Nishimoto, Brian Rash, Seth Cohn, Linda Bi, Stephanie Daniels, Conner Howell, James Austin Keith, Brooke Nottingham and Jesse Sidlauskas.

The newspaper currently is working on a statewide collaborative effort to review ongoing water shortage issues.

Heinkel-Wolfe took second place in the Freedom of Information category for work that included “Krum Animal Control in Disorder,” an in-depth look at animal control in the city of Krum; “Shuttered Isotopes,” an article about a plant in Denton that had been left idle with radioactive material inside; and “Through the Cracks,” a look at a neighborhood left responsible for its own repairs after its developer went bankrupt.

Former staffer Rachel McReynolds, who now works at The Dallas Morning News, won first place for a feature page designed by an individual and second place in the Star Designer of the Year contest.

An entire list of winners can be found at .