Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Denton council incumbents win, Hawkins elected

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

With final voting results, three incumbents retain their seats and a local coffeehouse owner joins the Denton city council.

Joey Hawkins held a substantial lead over his opponent in the race for the open District 4 seat.

Council member Dalton Gregory has collected almost 80 percent of the early votes in District 2, leading challengers Alfredo Sanchez and Travis Trawick.

In Place 3, council member Jim Englebrecht collected almost 65 percent of the votes, holding a wide lead over challengers Griffen Rice and Brendan Carroll.

Hawkins, running for District 4, which is being vacated by Chris Watts, collected more than 70 percent of the vote in his race against Phillip Kregel.

Proposition 1 touting a gas line near Denton Airport to attract new industrial business passed handily with almost 73 percent of the vote.

In the Denton school board races, Mia Price collected more than 78 percent of the votes in her race against Donna Woodfork, and Charles Stafford was leading Prudence Sanchez with more than 74 percent of the early votes.