Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Amason defeats Hanson in Corinth council contest

Profile image for By John D. Harden and Megan Gray / Staff Writers
By John D. Harden and Megan Gray / Staff Writers

Incumbent Bruce Hanson, 47, lost by eight votes to newcomer Mike Amason, 32, in the only contested race in Corinth.

Amason defeated Hanson 329 votes to 321.

He said he was happy to see the people in Corinth got out and voted.

“I’m very happy to win tonight and look forward to stepping into my position and get things moving forward,” Amason said after a day of hanging out at the polls.

He said he doesn’t feel the campaigning on the day of the election put him over the edge to win the seat but rather gave anyone in the city an opportunity to get unanswered questions asked.

“I think anyone showing up today at the polls was already decided when they got here,” Amason said.

Hanson could not be reached for comment Saturday evening, but in a recent interview, he said he was seeking a second term to continue to work on improving the city. He said he had a desire to help transform the city from a bedroom community to a destination for commercial and retail businesses.

Mayor Paul Ruggiere, 48, and council member Jim Mayfield, 67, were uncontested in their races.



Mayor Terri Wilson, 48, defeated Larry Lamonica, 64, for a third time. Wilson received 204 votes, or 58.6 percent, netting her a fourth term as mayor.

Wilson unseated Lamonica in 2007 and since then, Lamonica has attempted to regain the seat. Lamonica couldn’t be reach for comment Saturday night, but in a recent interview he said he believed that this would be his comeback year.

Wilson also couldn’t be reached for comment, but during an interview about the election, she said she sought re-election because she cares about the future of the city.

Council members Joe Beall and Michael Wilkes were uncontested in their races.

Five propositions were also on the Krum ballot for about $4.6 million for a new fire station, a library and a public works building as well as roads.

Two out of three bond election propositions passed. Voters agreed to issue $1.3 million in bonds on a new municipal library and $500,000 for street and road improvements.

And voters were deadlocked, 175 to 175, on a proposition for the issuance of $2.8 million for a new fire station and a public works building.

Under the remaining two propositions, residents voted for the increase to the sales tax rate by 0.5 percentage points. The funds generated from the increase will be used to pay for improvements to the ballparks, park facilities and open spaces. The current sales tax rate is 7.75 percent.



In Argyle, the only contested race was for Place 5.

Kay Jenkins Teer, daughter of former Mayor Yvonne Jenkins, defeated incumbent David Wintermute, 409 to 310 votes. Teer received more than 56.8 percent of the vote.

She said she decided to run because she said she believes she can make a difference in the town.

“I think Argyle is in a position that needs good leadership,” she said.

Wintermute could not be reached for comment Saturday night.

Mayor Matt Smith did not seek re-election.

Council member Peggy Krueger will take up the mayor’s seat. Because Krueger’s term on the council isn’t up until 2014, the council will appoint someone to the vacant seat.

Newcomer Jeff Cantrell, 51, a physician, was uncontested in his race for the Place 4 council seat.



Greg Scott, 59, won his third term as mayor Saturday night beating his challenger, Diane Rasor, 56, with nearly 75 percent of the vote.

Scott, a sales manager, said Saturday he was celebrating victory in his backyard with an estimated 40 people.

“I couldn’t have done it without the citizens of Justin and my support group that helped me along the way this campaign season,” Scott said.

Rasor, a city administrator in Newark, could not be reached for comment after the polls closed Saturday night.

Conrad Jimison, 72, retired, and Stephen Chamber, 49, a software engineer, were also elected to council.


Shady Shores

Mayoral candidate Cindy Spencer, 66, defeated Gerald Marshall, 53, for the mayor’s seat in Shady Shores. Both newcomers decided to run after Mayor Jerry Williams did not seek re-election.

Spencer, a retired teacher, also serves as mayor pro tem. She was elected to council in 2010.

Paula Woolworth, 57, defeated Paul Brown, 62, for Place 2. Patty Durkin, 52, defeated both Deborah Haus, 62, and Michael Thompson, 32, for the Place 3 council seat.

JOHN D. HARDEN can be reached at 940-566-6882 and via Twitter at @JDHarden.

MEGAN GRAY can be reached at 940-566-6885 and via Twitter at @MGrayNews.