Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content
Al Key

More cast early ballots

Profile image for By John D. Harden / Staff Writer
By John D. Harden / Staff Writer

Option proves popular as first week’s turnout exceeds 2012 numbers

More than 10,000 people had cast early primary election ballots as of Tuesday afternoon, and officials believe the turnout is fueled by the attention garnered by the multiple contested races and high-profile local and gubernatorial races.

The turnout is 32 percent higher than the early-voting turnout 2012, and Frank Phillips, Denton County election administrator, said that based on his experience, he expects to see turnout numbers continue to build.

“A combination of things is impacting the turnout,” Phillips said. “We have a number of local races and a growing interest in statewide races.”

In a breakdown of the voting data provided by Phillips, early voting for the Republican races has the largest turnout, which isn’t unusual, given that Denton County is a predominately Republican county, based on historical voting data.

In one week, more than 9,215 residents voted in the Republican primaries, up 22 percent from 2012, when only 7,558 voted. And in the Democratic races, 1,688 residents had voted as of Tuesday afternoon, a 140 percent increase over 2012.

High-profile campaigns include contested races for county judge and district attorney.

County Judge Mary Horn, who has run unopposed since 2006, is facing two GOP challengers, Corinth Mayor Paul Ruggiere and Highland Village attorney Sherman Swartz.

District Attorney Paul Johnson is facing Lantana attorney Karen Alexander and Denton attorney Hank Paine, both of whom announced their candidacies months ago.

Republican state Rep. Myra Crownover is also facing a primary challenge from Denton insurance agent Read King in the District 64 race, with the winner facing Democrat Emy Lyons in the November election.

Early voting ends Friday and election day is Tuesday.

JOHN D. HARDEN can be reached at 940-566-6882 and via Twitter at @JDHarden.



Early voting in the Denton County primary election continues through Friday. Here are the times and locations. During early voting, anyone can cast a ballot at any location. On election day Tuesday, voters must go to their precincts to vote.


7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today through Friday


Denton: Denton County Elections Administration, 701 Kimberly Drive

Argyle: Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St.

Carrollton: Carrollton Public Library, 4220 N. Josey Lane

Cross Roads: Steve E. Copeland Government Center, 1400 FM424

Dallas: Frankford Town Homes, 18110 Marsh Lane

Double Oak: Double Oak Town Hall, 320 Waketon Road

Flower Mound: Flower Mound Police and Municipal Court Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick Lane

Frisco: Frisco Fire Station No. 7, 330 W. Stonebook Parkway

Highland Village: Highland Village Municipal Complex, 1000 Highland Village Road

Justin: Justin Municipal Complex, 415 N. College St.

Lake Dallas: Lake Dallas City Hall, 212 Main St.

Lewisville: Lewisville Municipal Annex, 1197 W. Main St.

Pilot Point: Pilot Point Senior Center, 310 S. Washington St.

The Colony: The Colony Government Center, 6301 Main St.


The following early voting locations will only be open on the dates and times listed.

Corinth: Corinth City Hall, 3300 Corinth Parkway. Open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today through Friday.

Krum: Krum ISD Administration Building, 1200 Bobcat Blvd. Open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today through Friday.

Sanger: First Baptist Church of Sanger, 708 S. Fifth St. Open 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. today; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday and Friday.

Trophy Club: Svore Municipal Building, 100 Municipal Drive. Open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today though Friday.