Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Early voting ends today

Profile image for By Dianna Hunt / Staff Writer
By Dianna Hunt / Staff Writer

Today is the last day to cast an early vote in Tuesday’s primary elections.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today at 18 locations across Denton County with ballots featuring candidates from the top statewide races to local precinct races.

The local ballot includes 11 contested Republican primary races — including county judge and district attorney seats — with more than 30 candidates.

Lines were already forming Thursday for early voting, with about 10 people in line and the 11 voting booths filled at about 2 p.m. Thursday at the elections office. Any registered voter can cast a ballot at an early polling location, but voters must cast ballots at their specific voting location on election day.

“It’s been really busy here today [Thursday],” said Frank Phillips, Denton County elections administrator. “It’s the first time we’ve had any real lines.”

Early voting is on track to come close to the early ballots cast in 2012, a presidential election that generally draws the highest number of voters, Phillips said.

“That was a presidential primary,” he said. “I don’t know that we’ll make that same mark.”

Of the 389,369 registered voters in Denton County, more than 15,000 voters had cast ballots by end of the day Wednesday in the primary election, including 12,946 voting Republican and 2,357 voting as Democrats, according to elections officials.

Another 2,994 voters had cast mail-in ballots, of which 2,668 were Republican primary and 326 were Democrats.

In the 2012 primary, 20,199 voters cast early ballots.

Six local Democrats are on the primary ballot but none is facing a challenger. They will face Republicans and perhaps Libertarians or other candidates in November.

DIANNA HUNT can be reached at 940-566-6884 and on Twitter at @DiannaHunt.


Early voting locations

Early voting in Denton County continues through today. Here are the times and locations. During early voting, anyone can cast a ballot at any location. On election day, voters must go to their precincts to vote.


7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today


Denton: Denton County Elections Administration, 701 Kimberly Drive

Argyle: Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St.

Carrollton: Carrollton Public Library, 4220 N. Josey Lane, Carrollton

Corinth: Corinth City Hall, 3300 Corinth Parkway

Cross Roads: Steve E. Copeland Government Center, 1400 FM424, Cross Roads

Dallas: Frankford Town Homes, 18110 Marsh Lane

Double Oak: Double Oak Town Hall, 320 Waketon Road

Flower Mound: Flower Mound Police and Municipal Court Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick Lane

Frisco: Frisco Fire Station No. 7, 330 W. Stonebook Parkway

Highland Village: Highland Village Municipal Complex, 1000 Highland Village Road

Justin: Justin Municipal Complex, 415 N. College St.

Krum: Krum ISD Administration Building, 1200 Bobcat Blvd.

Lake Dallas: Lake Dallas City Hall, 212 Main St., Lake Dallas

Lewisville: Lewisville Municipal Annex, 1197 W. Main St.

Pilot Point: Pilot Point Senior Center, 310 S. Washington St.

Sanger: First Baptist Church of Sanger, 708 S. 5th St.

The Colony: The Colony Government Center, 6301 Main St.

Trophy Club: Svore Municipal Building, 100 Municipal Drive.