Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Three to vie for mayoral position

Profile image for By Bj Lewis and Britney Tabor
By Bj Lewis and Britney Tabor

The lineup of candidates for the May elections has been set, setting up contested races for Denton mayor and two council positions and uncontested races to fill two Denton school board positions.

No last-minute candidates stepped forward Friday, the last day for filing for the nonpartisan elections. Three candidates are vying to replace Denton Mayor Mark Burroughs, who has reached his term limit, and two candidates each filed for two open at-large council positions. A special election will be held later for the District 2 seat being vacated.

Only one candidate filed each for Places 6 and 7 on the Denton school board, meaning those races will be uncontested.

The nonpartisan election is May 10 for local municipalities, school boards and related issues, such as bond elections.

Denton mayor, council races

For Denton mayor, three candidates are on the ballot — university administrator Jean Schaake, 70; attorney and real estate developer Chris Watts, 52; and talk-show host Donna Woodfork, 44.

In the race to fill the Place 5 council seat, Denton council member Dalton Gregory, 61, announced he will resign from his District 2 council seat to run for the at-large seat. He will be facing businesswoman Hatice Salih, 55, who previously ran for the Place 6 seat. Place 5 is being vacated by Mayor Pro Tem Pete Kamp, who has reached her term limit.

For Place 6, technology consultant M. Brendan Carroll, 44, will face commercial real estate developer Greg Johnson, 45. The current Place 6 council member, James King, decided not to seek re-election.

Potential District 2 candidates have until March 10 to file for the special election to replace Gregory, whose resignation becomes effective on the day the May 10 election results are canvassed. So far, business entrepreneur John Ryan, 48, and production manager Glen Farris Squibb, 34, have filed for spots on the ballot.

Denton school board races

Two seats are open on the Denton school board — Places 6 and 7.

Jim Alexander, 67, a Texas Woman’s University professor who has served on the board since 1993, has filed seeking another term in Place 6.

Dorothy Martinez, 74 and retired, is seeking the Place 7 seat.

Rudy Rodriguez, the incumbent in Place 7, said he’s not seeking re-election. He has served on the board since 2008. Rodriguez, 73, said that after six years, he’s stepping down to commit more time to his family but said that won’t stop his commitment to public education in Denton.

The retired educator calls his time on the board “extremely rewarding, both personally and professionally.”

“I’m grateful to the Denton community [for] making this possible,” Rodriguez said. “It’s been an honor and a privilege to serve in this manner.

“I plan to continue my service in other forms to the public schools here in Denton.”

BJ LEWIS can be reached at 940-566-6875 and via Twitter at @BjlewisDRC.

BRITNEY TABOR can be reached at 940-566-6876 and via Twitter at @BritneyTabor.