Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Stuart to be in Texas Woman’s Hall of Fame

Profile image for By Jenna Duncan / Staff Writer
By Jenna Duncan / Staff Writer

Ann Stuart, the outgoing president and chancellor of Texas Woman’s University, will be inducted into the Texas Woman’s Hall of Fame today alongside eight other Texas women, including first lady Anita Perry.

The ceremony will be conducted in the Texas Capitol’s Senate Chamber, where Gov. Rick Perry will serve as host. Stuart and the other inductees will later be added to the permanent Texas Women’s Hall of Fame exhibit, which has been housed at TWU in Denton since 2003.

Since the Hall of Fame was founded in 1984 by the Governor’s Commission for Women, it has honored a few women each year for their accomplishments and contributions to the state. Common areas of recognition include arts, athletics, business, education, health and leadership.

Stuart is being honored for work in education in the state, as she has led TWU since 1999. Highlights of her tenure include increasing enrollment by 85 percent, overseeing the new construction at the Houston and Dallas campuses and overseeing the graduation of more than 20,000 students from the university.

This is the second time in three years a member of the TWU community has been inducted into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame. Maj. Gen. Mary Saunders, an alumna and the current director of the TWU Leadership Institute, was inducted in 2012.

Other inductees are Nandita Berry, Texas secretary of state; Lillie Biggins, president of Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth; Joanne Herring, political activist and businesswoman; Kim Olson; retired Air Force colonel and executive director of Grace after Fire; Senfronia Thompson, a state representative and civil rights leader; Deborah Tucker, director of the National Center of Domestic and Sexual Violence; and Carolyn Wright, chief justice of the Fifth Court of Appeals.

JENNA DUNCAN can be reached at 940-566-6889 and via Twitter at @JennaFDuncan.