Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

On the ballot

Voters will return to the polls on May 27 to decide runoffs in the Republican and Democratic primaries.

The only local runoffs on the Denton County ballots are Republican races for district attorney and two justice of the peace positions.

Voters may not cross party lines to vote in the runoff — a voter who cast a ballot in the March 4 Republican primary may not vote in the Democratic runoff, and vice versa. But a voter who did not cast a ballot in the March 4 primary may vote in either runoff election.

Polls will be open Tuesday, May 27, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Here is a rundown of the races on the Denton County ballots.

Local Republican runoffs

District attorney: Incumbent Paul Johnson is facing Lantana attorney Karen Alexander.

Precinct 4 justice of the peace: Incumbent J.W. Hand is facing attorney Harris Hughey.

Precinct 5 justice of the peace: Cynthia Mitchell is facing Mike Oglesby.

Statewide Republican runoffs

Lieutenant governor: Incumbent David Dewhurst is facing Dan Patrick.

Attorney general: Dan Branch is facing Ken Paxton.

Agriculture commissioner: Tommy Merritt is facing Sid Miller.

Railroad commissioner: Wayne Christian is squaring off against Ryan Sitton.

Statewide Democratic runoffs

No local races

U.S. senator: David M. Alameel is facing Kesha Rogers.

Agriculture commissioner: Richard “Kinky” Friedman is facing Jim Hogan.