Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Monument committee elects chair, vice chair

The Confederate monument advisory committee on Friday elected John Baines and Ronni Cade as its chairman and vice chairwoman, respectively. 

Baines owns a local accounting and bookkeeping service, while Cade is a small business owner and former Lewisville City Council member. They will lead the group's discussion as members determine the fate of the contentious monument on the Square. 

Denton County commissioners created the group in response to a recharged national conversation surrounding such monuments. In recent weeks, commissioners each appointed two people to the committee, which first met Friday morning in the Courthouse on the Square.

During the meeting, the 10 members introduced themselves and stated their general position on the monument, according to Cade. One of the members, local activist Willie Hudspeth, described the meeting as positive. 

He said everyone seemed open minded about the monument, and they all agreed more historical context is necessary. 

"We want to add more history, but what that means I don't know," Hudspeth said. 

The committee's other seven members include Alfredo Sanchez, Mike Cochran, Paul Meltzer, Tim Trylovich, Fred Rogers, Howard Watt and Mark Bowlin. They will meet again 9 a.m. Tuesday in the 1896 Room on the third floor of the Courthouse on the Square.