Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content


Profile image for Paul J. Weber


Paul J. Weber
Texas Gov. Abbott begins re-election bid with no rivals yet

Texas Gov. Abbott begins re-election bid with no rivals yet

Republican Texas Gov. Greg Abbott launched his re-election bid Friday with no clear rival in sight, the money to likely outspend any eventual challenger and a new immigration crackdown that could test in 2018 support among Hispanic voters he aggressively courted four years ago.

AP analysis: District lines affected Texas House vote

Profile image for Will Weissert


Will Weissert

Voting districts drawn by Texas' Republican-controlled Legislature helped the party win nearly four more U.S. House seats than it otherwise would have in the last election, which was more than any other state, an Associated Press analysis of the results of federal and state legislative races found.

More in State

Denton LGBT groups show their colors for pride month

Profile image for Kyle Martin


Kyle Martin

Denton's LGBT community seems to be growing in both visibility and in its push for equal rights. Sunday, Denton's LGBT community and supporters will celebrate Pride, a national monthlong observance of the Stonewall riots in New York, and the political push for equality that followed.

More in News

Remap case could affect Texas

Profile image for Jamie Lovegrove


Jamie Lovegrove

Already grappling with the potential impact of a recent Supreme Court ruling on racial gerrymandering, Texas political observers faced the possibility of a new and broader challenge to the state's congressional map Monday as the court took up a Wisconsin case on partisan gerrymandering.