Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Denton County sheriff endorses Edmondson for commissioner

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Denton County Sheriff Tracy Murphree has endorsed Dianne Edmondson for Denton County Commissioner Precinct 4. 

Two other elected law enforcement officials have also endorsed Edmondson — Constables Johnny Hammons and Doug Boydston. 

Edmondson, a resident of Robson Ranch and the former chairwoman of the Denton County Republican Party, is one of four candidates running for the Republican nomination. The seat is being vacated by Andy Eads, who is running for the Republican nomination for county judge. The other Precinct 4 commissioner candidates are Brenda Latham of Bartonville and Jim Carter and Itamar Gelbman, both of Flower Mound. 

Precinct 4 covers much of Denton County's south and west sides, including the communities of Argyle, Bartonville, Copper Canyon, Denton, Dish, Double Oak, Flower Mound, Justin, Krum, Lantana, Northlake, Ponder, Roanoke and Trophy Club. 

The primary election is Tuesday, March 6. The winner of the Republican nomination will face Democratic Party nominee Bryan Webb on Election Day, Nov. 6. Webb is a longtime member of the Flower Mound Town Council.