Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Football: Area trio picked for Oil Bowl

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Three area high school football players will have the opportunity to represent the region and showcase their talents this weekend.

Aubrey’s Matthew Davis, Argyle’s Jordan Deagan and Aubrey’s Bry’len Williams will represent East Texas in the 76th Oil Bowl. The all-star game will take place at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at Wichita Falls’ Memorial Stadium.

The Oil Bowl is sponsored by the Maskat Shrine of Wichita Falls and Under Armour.

This year marks the first time in the game’s storied history that an all-star team from Oklahoma will not face a team composed of players from Texas. Instead, the game pits the East Texas All-Stars against the West-Texas All-Stars.

Brian Polk of Trophy Club Nelson will be the head coach of the East Texas team. Seymour coach Keith Ivy will command the West Texas team.

Keller’s Cody Nelson, who has signed to play at North Texas in the fall, will play for East Texas.

Tickets for the game start at $10.