Great eras in UNT history

Comments () A Text Size

The following is a look at some of the great eras in North Texas football history:

2001-04 — UNT won four straight Sun Belt Conference titles and played in four straight New Orleans Bowls, an era highlighted by a 52-14 win over Baylor in 2003 and a 24-19 win over Cincinnati in the 2002 New Orleans Bowl.

1975-78 — Hayden Fry led UNT to four straight winning seasons in his final four years at the school before leaving for Iowa and posted one of the greatest wins in school history, a 21-14 victory over Tennessee in 1975.

1966-69 — “Mean” Joe Greene was one of several standout players in the late 1960s for UNT, which won the 1966 and 1967 Missouri Valley Conference titles and posted four straight winning seasons.

1955-59 — UNT became one of the first football teams in the Southwest to integrate with the addition of Leon King and Abner Haynes in 1956, won two Gulf Coast Conference titles (1955 and 1956) and two Missouri Valley Conference titles (1958 and 1959) and played in the 1959 Sun Bowl.

1950-52 — UNT won three straight Gulf Coast Conference titles and played the first game at Fouts Field in 1952.

1946-47 — UNT won back-to-back Lone Star Conference titles in its first two seasons under legendary coach Odus Mitchell.

1938-41 — UNT won three straight Lone Star Conference titles beginning in 1939 while posting four straight winning seasons.

1931-32 — UNT posted a 16-4-1 while winning the TIAA Conference title and the Lone Star Conference title in back-to-back seasons.


Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.