Golf: Four area golfers in Texas State Open

Comments () A Text Size

Four Denton-area golfers will be in the field of 144 on Thursday when the 42nd Bright Realty Texas State Open gets under way at The Lakes at Castle Hills in Lewisville.

Josh Jones of Denton, Matt Brost of Lantana, Clinton Page of Argyle and Craig Pullen of Ponder will tee off in the 72-hole event to determine the 2012 Texas State Open champion.

The Texas State Open has crowned many past and future stars over its 41-year history. Past champions who have gone on to compete on the PGA tour include Ben Crenshaw, Lee Trevino, Jeff Maggert, Blaine McCallister, Brad Lardon, Kris Cox, Kelly Grunewald, Cameron Beckman and Martin Piller. Crenshaw, Maggert and Grunewald were three-time winners of the event and Trevino captured the title twice.

The tournament will be played on the 7,256-yard, par-72 course at The Lakes of Castle Hill with 18 holes on Thursday and Friday. Following Friday’s second round, the field will be cut to the low 50 scores and ties. Rounds three and four will take place Saturday and Sunday.

Brost will tee off at 7:48 a.m. on No. 10, while Page will tee off on No. 10 at 7:57 a.m. Jones will be in a threesome that tees off at 8:51 a.m., on No. 10, while Pullen has a 9:09 a.m. tee time off No. 1.


Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.