Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Cross country: Five Denton teams advance to regionals after 5-5A meet

The Denton school district will again be well represented at the Class 5A Region I cross country meet in Lubbock, as the Denton High boys and Ryan girls placed first and were two of five squads to finish in the top three at Tuesday's District 5-5A meet at North Lakes Park.

Overall in DISD, Denton's boys and girls teams, Ryan's boys and girls and Braswell's girls qualified for regionals Oct. 23. The top three teams and top 10 individuals advanced.

The Broncos had three runners place in the top four in the 5-kilometer race — including a first-place finish by Benjamin McAfee at 17 minutes, 10.47 seconds — to finish with 34 team points. Adam Goff and Gunnison Hays finished third and fourth, respectively.

That total gave Denton a 30-point margin of victory over second-place Sherman. Ryan's boys finished third and were led by David Aussenhofer's second-place time of 17:14.23.

Meanwhile, the Ryan girls rebounded from a third-place finish a year ago to win their meet with 60 points. The girls race featured a straight sweep by the Denton schools, as Denton finished second with 63 points and Braswell, the defending champion, finished third with 67. 

Ryan was led by Wimberley Wright, who finished second with a time of 20:30.79. Denton's Zoe Hensley took home the gold medal with a time of 18:56.47.

The regional meet will be held at Mae Simmons Park in Lubbock.


1. Denton (34)
2. Sherman (64)
3. Ryan (78)
4. Braswell (81)
5. Denison (132)
6. Wichita Falls (140)
7. Wichita Falls Rider (151)


1. Benjamin McAfee, Denton, 17:10.47
2. David Aussenhofer, Ryan, 17:14.23
3. Adam Goff, Denton, 17:20.31
4. Gunnison Hays, Denton, 17:20.83
5. Seergio Leon, Braswell, 17:44.12
6. Jacob Charske, Sherman, 17:51.47
7. AJ Espinio, Wichita Falls, 17:55.98
8. Wilson Kirkbride, Denison, 17:58.39
9. Jordan Munoz, Braswell, 17:58.78
10. Eric Garcia, Sherman, 17:59.02


1. Ryan (60)
2. Denton (63)
3. Braswell (67)
4. Denison (68)
5. Sherman (130)
6. Wichita Falls (137)
7. Wichita Falls Rider (158)


1. Zoe Hensley, Denton, 18:56.47
2. Wimberley Wright, Ryan, 20:30.79
3. Aubyn Thompson, Denison, 20:36.49
4. Kara Freeman, Braswell, 20:43.01
5. Sage Lancaster, Ryan, 20:53.14
6. Libby Ticknor, Sherman, 21:06.73
7. Rebecca Vazquez, Denton, 21:12.81
8. Christina Hernandez, Denison, 21:33.02
9. Taylor Pizzica, Denton, 21:33.51
10. Aeriana Caldwell, Wichita Falls, 21:33.80.