Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Football: Ryan's Sanders voted AP Class 5A Offensive Player of the Year, Douglas makes 2nd team

Ryan quarterback Spencer Sanders was recognized as the offensive player of the year and wide receiver Gabriel Douglas earned a second-team selection when the 2017 Texas Associated Press Sports Editors Class 5A all-state team was released Wednesday.

Ryan linebacker Kosi Eldridge and offensive lineman Mike Nielsen received honorable mention.

The all-state team is voted on by sports writers across the state and based solely on regular-season performances. 

Sanders, a senior, was a four-year starter at Ryan and entered the playoffs with 2,557 passing yards and 34 touchdowns to go with 740 rushing yards and nine more scores. He finished with 3,845 passing yards, 1, 380 rushing yards and 70 total touchdowns.

Douglas, a three-year starter, led Ryan in receiving with 1,000 yards and 18 touchdowns entering the postseason. He finished with 1,366 yards and 26 touchdowns.

"Spencer and all those guys had a great year and are very deserving," Ryan coach Dave Henigan said. "Gabe has had a great three-year run and is deserving, for sure. Mike played well up front all year long, and Kosi led the team in tackles by far after being asked to play a new position. They are very deserving."

Ryan was the only Denton-area team to have representatives on the 5A all-state team. 

STEVE GAMEL can be reached at 940-566-6869 and via Twitter at @NewspaperSteve.

Class 5A All-State Football Team

The 2017 Texas Associated Press Sports Editors Class 5A all-state high school football team, released Wednesday. Voting based on regular-season performance. Players are listed in alphabetical order at each position.


Linemen: Brycen Castillo, Victoria West, Sr. Judah Copeland, Austin McCallum, Sr. Truett Knox, Aledo, Sr. Zach Ruiz, College Station A&M Consolidated, Sr. Carson Tipps, CC Calallen, Sr.

Receivers/ends: Caden Leggett, Georgetown, Sr. Cedric Patterson III, Crosby, Sr.

Quarterback: Spencer Sanders, Ryan, Sr.

Running backs: Alexander Julian, Austin McCallum, Sr. Edward Perez, SA Southside, Sr. Tyrees Whitfield, Abilene Cooper, Sr.

Kicker: Ramario Perez, CC Veterans Memorial, Sr.

Offensive Player Of The Year: Spencer Sanders, Ryan


Linemen: Derrion Clark, Dallas South Oak Cliff, Jr. Matt Quenichet, Richland, Sr. Tydrick Ranson, Lubbock Monterey, Sr. Gary Wiley, Longview Pine Tree, Sr.

Linebackers: Larry Nixon III, Richland, Sr. Bumper Pool, Lucas Lovejoy, Sr. Dashaun White, Richland, Sr.

Defensive backs: Jalen Catalon, Mansfield Legacy, Jr. Kasen Handal, Tomball, Jr. Trejon Hugue, Mansfield Lake Ridge, Sr. Brandon Joseph, College Station, Jr. 

Punter: Sean Chapa, Alice, Jr.

Defensive Player Of The Year: Gary Wiley, Longview Pine Tree


Linemen: Victor Buenrostro, Mesquite Poteet, Sr.; Reid Francis, A&M Consolidated, Jr.; Clayton Franks, Mansfield Legacy, Sr.; Danny Guajardo, Crosby, Sr.; Clinton Middleton, CC Veterans Memorial, Sr.;

Receivers/ends: Blair Conwright, Lubbock Coronado, Sr.; Gabriel Douglas, Ryan, Sr.

Quarterback: Qua Gray, Lubbock Coronado, Sr.

Running backs: Demareus Hosey, Justin Northwest, Jr.; Rene Palomino, SA Highlands, Sr.; Titus Swen, Haslet Eaton, Jr.

Kicker: Eduardo Rosales, Angleton, Jr.


Linemen: Justice Escobar, CC Calallen, Sr.; Miguel Garcia, Lubbock Coronado, Sr.; Brady Jenschke, Kerrville Tivy, Sr.; James Williams, Aledo, Sr.

Linebackers: David Denais, Kerrville Tivy, Sr.; Malik Hubbard, FW Boswell, Sr.; Trey Stephens, Lubbock Coronado, Jr.

Defensive backs: Derrick Ayala, Edcouch-Elsa, Jr.; Breshun Berry, FW Boswell, Sr.; Evrin Hawkins, Angleton, Sr.; Tristen Wooten, Austin, Sr.

Punter: Jack Traugott, Victoria East, Sr.


Linemen: Limber Alvarado, Colleyville Heritage; Chris Cassidy, Angleton; Jaylin Hendrix, Everman; Chasen Hines, Marshall; Jonathon Jordan, Lubbock Coronado; Mike Nielsen, Ryan; Regan Riddle,  Highland Park; Thomas Shelmire,  Highland Park; Darrell Simpson, Justin Northwest; Jaylon Thomas, Lubbock Coronado; Carson Tipps, CC Calallen; Jeremiah Williams, College Station.

Receivers/ends: Ke'von Ahmad, Colleyville Heritage; Dj Baptist, Hutto; Breshun Berry, FW Boswell; Kam Brown, Colleyville Heritage; David Clayton, Grapevine; Jake Edgemon, WF Rider; Tevailance Hunt, Texarkana Texas; Nik Proctor, SA Alamo Heights; Preston Riggs, Port Neches-Groves; Myller Royals, Abilene Cooper; Nathan Wuenschel, CC Tuloso-Midway.

Quarterbacks: Alan Bowman, Grapevine; Landry Gilpin, Mission Veterans; Trevor Greenman, Dripping Springs; Chase Griffin, Hutto; John Stephen Jones,  Highland Park; Marquez Perez, College Station; M.J. Rivers, Frisco Lone Star; Colby Suits, North Forney.

Running backs: Jasean Barrow, Canyon Randall; Alec Brown, CC Calallen; Seth Dixon, Hereford; Grant Johnson, Mansfield Legacy; Roshawn Prear, Grapevine; Calvin Ribera, North Forney; Tycen Thompson, Ennis; Anthony Watkins, FW South Hills; Craig Williams, Crosby; Tamerik Williams, Angleton.

Kickers: Matteo Cordray, Highland Park; Nick Dill, The Colony; Trevor Oakley, Ennis.


Linemen: Taurean Carter, Mansfield Legacy; Thomas Chapman, Colleyville Heritage; Marquise Conchola, College Station; Hezekiah Cotlong, Angleton; D'idrec Dugan, Sulphur Springs; Colt Ellison, Aledo; Obed Guerrero, Carrollton Turner; Kyrese Mcfarland, FW Boswell; Elliott Newsom,  Highland Park; Steven Parker, Dallas South Oak Cliff; Jaterrius Pleasant, Burleson; Cameron Preston, Crowley; Marje Smith, Marshall; David Torres, Pharr Valley View.

Linebackers: Nick Bolton, Frisco Lone Star; Bryant Breckenridge, CC Ray; Brandon Broughton, CC Calallen; Maki Carabin, SA Alamo Heights; Angel Chapa, Sharyland Pioneer; Ryan Coxe,  Highland Park; Kosi Eldridge,  Ryan; Marc Garcia, Alice; Aaron Hale, Aledo; Paul Hernandez, Dumas; Demauryon Holmes, Mansfield Legacy; Corteze Hurd, Marshall; Dequavion Ludd, Dallas South Oak Cliff; Jackson Masters, Austin McCallum; Zach Mcdaniel, Burleson; Anthony Watkins, FW South Hills; Justice Watson, CC Miller; Trevor Williams, A&M Consolidated; Treylin Wormley, Mansfield Legacy.

Defensive backs: Jaylen Brooks, Gregory-Portland; K.D. Davis, Ennis; Nate Floyd, A&M Consolidated; Dylan Gusme, SA Burbank; Wyatt Harris, Aledo; Garrett Hight, CC Calallen; K.J. Kelly, Abilene Cooper; Philip Lively, CC Calallen; Sam Martin, Burleson; Champ Mathis, Marshall; Demani Richardson, Waxahachie; My'kell Ross, Angleton; Tevin Wooten, Austin.

Punters: Carl Teller, Colleyville Heritage; Dutch Patterson, FW Boswell.