Football: Two area players named first-team all-state

Comments () A Text Size

When The Associated Press Class 3A All-State Team was announced Tuesday, a pair of area defensive backs earned top honors for their play this season.

Krum senior Travis White and Argyle junior Connor Wilson were both first-team all-state selections after outstanding seasons for their respective squads.

The statistics used for voting only include those compiled in the regular season and excludes playoff statistics.

Wilson had eight interceptions in his first year at Argyle while adding 113 tackles, four fumble recoveries and two interceptions returned for touchdowns.

“There’s just not a lot of kids that have the same skill set as him,” Argyle head coach Todd Rodgers said. “It’s obvious that what he was able to achieve at a high level is a testament to his skills.”

Wilson missed Argyle’s 42-21 3A Division II regional semifinal loss to Gilmer after suffering a hip-related injury in the previous week’s win against Melissa.

Like Wilson, White was instrumental in Krum’s first trip to the playoffs. White landed the first-team nod in Krum’s inaugural year in University Interscholastic League district play.

White finished the year with eight interceptions, two forced fumbles, two defensive touchdowns and 96 tackles.

Argyle junior wide receiver Ian Sadler was left off both the first team and the second team but was named an honorable-mention pick as a wide receiver and punter. Sadler scored 25 total touchdowns in the regular season for the Eagles (nine rushing, nine receiving, two kickoff returns, four punt returns, one kickoff return, one passing).

“I don’t quite understand why the sportswriters of the state of Texas didn’t vote for him,” Rodgers said.“He just played a lot of different roles for us.”

“There’s kids that were awarded these accolades, and they may have had similar stats that I’m not aware of, but his stats were absurd compared to some of the ones that they published in the newspaper.”

Other honorable mentions from Argyle included offensive linemen Jordan Deagen and Tanner Fought, running back Nick Ralson, kicker Cole Hedlund and linebacker Sam Sizelove.

For Krum, running back Reed Flores and offensive lineman Billy Morgan were named honorable mention.

BEN BABY can be reached at 940-566-6869. His e-mail address is .


The 2012 Texas Associated Press Sports Editors Class 3A all-state high school football team, released Tuesday. Voting based on regular-season performance. Players are listed in alphabetical order at each position.


Offensive Player of the Year: Kadarius Baker, Navasota.

Quarterback: Kadarius Baker, Navasota, Sr.

Running backs: Jarek Black, Shallowater, Sr.; Jordan Fraga, Devine, Sr.; Cecil Johnson, Gonzales, Sr.

Receivers/ends: Austin Collins, Navasota, Sr.; Solomon McGinty, Navasota, Sr.

Linemen: Bryan Manley, Stephenville, Sr.; Trey Martin, El Campo, Sr.; Jake Raulerson, Celina, Sr.; Ralph Rubalcaba; Raymondville, Sr.; Brian Thlang, Palestine, Jr.

Kicker: Sebastien Corrales, Gatesville, Sr.


Defensive Player of the Year: Cole Hunt, El Campo.

Linemen: Bo Brady, Henderson, Sr.; Cole Hunt, El Campo, Sr.; Chase Varnado, Stephenville, Sr.; Jordan Wells, Navasota, Jr.

Linebackers: K.J. Cumby, Athens, Jr.; JT Miller, Gonzales, Jr.; Brett Prihoda, El Campo, Sr.

Defensive backs: Ivory Brown, Palestine, Sr.; Austin Collins, Navasota, Sr.; Travis White, Krum, Sr.; Connor Wilson, Argyle, Jr.

Punter: Kam Williams, Midland Greenwood, Sr.


Quarterback: Preston Townley, Huffman Hargrave, Sr.

Running backs: K.J. Garrett, Center, Sr.; Chance Kelley, Paris North Lamar, Sr.; Arthur Lockett, Houston Yates, Sr.

Receivers/ends: Matthew Barnes, Groesbeck, Sr.; Justin Weatherley, Glen Rose, Sr.

Linemen: Brian Bormann, Geronimo Navarro, Sr.; Kevin Hobbs, Brownwood, Sr.; Max Jones, Stephenville, Jr.; Tyler Jorden, Bellville, Sr.; Zach Monreal, Devine, Sr.; Riley Olson, Abilene Wylie, Sr.

Kicker: Michael Martinez, Navasota, Soph.


Linemen: Oscotty Castro, Dalhart, Sr.; Isaiah Golden, Carthage, Sr.; Julio Maldonado, Rio Hondo, Sr.; Leo Sanchez, Melissa, Sr.

Linebackers: Jaylyin Minor, Navasota, Sr.; Dustin Savensky, Navasota, Sr.; Jackson Scharf, Monahans, Sr.; Josh Walker, Gilmer, Jr.

Defensive backs: Preston Brown, Stephenville, Sr.; Jay Leal, Geronimo Navarro, Jr.; Zack Lopez, Gonzales, Sr.; Jerrod Mahan, Graham, Sr.

Punter: Cooper Howely, Brownwood, Sr.


Quarterbacks: Ben Davis, Graham; Quinten Dormady, Boerne; Tyler Jones, Stephenville; Patrick Reed, Silsbee; Kam Williams, Midland Greenwood.

Running backs: Chaston Bennett, Rusk; Malik Berry, Anna; Adam Berryman, Gainesville; Floyd Bess, West Columbia; Cody Burtscher, Glen Rose; Stanton Keane, Lubbock Cooper; Zane Conlin, Geronimo Navarro; Reed Flores, Krum; Garrett Martin, Abilene Wylie; Nick Ralston, Argyle; Taylor Sikorsky, Quinlan Ford; Juwan Washington, Kennedale; Corion Webster, Atlanta; Andre Welch, Fairfield.

Receivers/ends: Haden Bryant, Bullard; T.C. Courtney, Lubbock Estacado; Conner Eiland, Canton; Tee Goree, Carthage; Brice Gunter, Stephenville; Ryan Moseley, Lubbock Cooper; Keith Ratley, Yoakum; Ian Sadler, Argyle; Tre Smith, Wills Point; Ben Thiel, Celina.

Linemen: Trevor Barton, Gatesville; Mark Benavides, Port Isabel; Joe Brandenburg, Monahans; Ricky Clark, Burkburnett; Hayden Cobb, Shallowater; Jordan Deagen, Argyle; Brady English, Gilmer; Tyler Fore, Graham; Tanner Fought, Argyle; Caleb Harvey, Cuero; Willie Hights, Yoakum; DeAndre Key, Abilene Wylie; Billy Morgan, Krum; Jacob Mizell, Coldspring-Oakhurst; Chris Nunez, Big Spring; Ryan Salinas, Lubbock Estacado; Joseph Stieferman, Quinlan Ford; Devin Torres, Vernon; Clay Wiley, Kilgore; Robert Young, Bellville.

Kicker: Cole Hedlund, Argyle.


Linemen: Seth Adams, Silsbee; Tivo Armendariz, Monahans; Jake Bauer, Navasota; Jerquis Beasley, West Orange-Stark; Tadeo Canon-Masjoan, Sweetwater; Kamm Coker, Bellville; Ty Cook, Crandall; Guillermo Esparza, Andrews; Xavier Fluellen, Gilmer; Jacques Guillot, Port Isabel; Mack Monson, Brownwood; Sid Moore, Van; Jonah Noah, Stephenville; Miguel Ramirez, Port Isabel; Dequone Shaw, Dallas Roosevelt; Walter Sheridan, Palestine.

Linebackers: Jamal Black, Paris; Santos Carrizales, Rio Hondo; Ty Cook, Crandall; A.J. Davis, Kilgore; Logan Day, Midland Greenwood; Ramon Frazier, Wharton; Jesse Gomez, Lubbock Estacado; Zack Holliday, Bullard; Jamal Kind, Henderson; Ryan Linebaugh, Sweetwater; Joe Lynch, West Orange-Stark; Jerrod Mahan, Graham; Alden Mann, Wimberley; Esteven Montelongo, Port Isabel; Josh Raulerson, Celina; Brickey Reed, Paris; Henry Rivas, Brownwood; Sam Sizelove, Argyle; Broderick Thomas, West Columbia; Brett Wade, Kennedale; Chris White, Gainesville; Daniel Woodson, West Orange-Stark.

Defensive backs: Jadon Boatright, Liberty Hill; Rhett Brooks, Llano; Braylin Brown, Celina; Mookie Carlile, Stephenville; J’Korrie Centers, Henderson; Joseph Clark, Tyler Chapel Hill; Benny Colbert, Kilgore; T.C. Courtney, Lubbock Estacado; Xavier Creeks, Navasota; Hunter Dorman, Somerset; Mason Fraley, Midland Greenwood; Niko Garza, Ferris; Davion Hall, Texarkana Liberty-Eylau; Roderick Hall, Lubbock Estacado; Jesse Hudson, Emory Rains; Willis Johnson, West Columbia; Jesse Montgomery, Dallas Madison; Johnny Shaw, Center; Nick Stiger, Atlanta; Quentin Tezeno, West Orange-Stark; Brandon Urquizo, Vernon; Cal Wood, Bellville.

Punters: Tanner Barr, Gilmer; Hunter Darst, Crandall; Ian Sadler, Argyle; Dakota Smith, Paris.


Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.