Softball Capsules

Comments () A Text Size

Here is a capsule look at the Denton area softball teams as the high school season opened Monday.

Ryan Lady Raiders

District: 5-5A

Head Coach: Aimee Foutch (15th year, 11th at Ryan)

2012 Record: 20-11 (reached area finals in Class 4A)

Key Players: P Carol Raabe, SS Hannah Avrett, 1B Kayla Cunningham


Denton Lady Broncos

District: 5-4A

Head Coach: Rhana Ramos

2012 Record: 2-22-1

Key Players: P/OF Natasha Kissel, OF Taren Young, P/Inf Cori Wilkinson


Guyer Lady Wildcats

District: 5-4A

Head Coach: Keith Medford (15th year, 8th at Guyer)

2012 Record: 19-11-1 (bi-district finalist in Class 5A)

Key Players: RHP Suzette Palmer, C Megan Washam, OF Kennedy Been


Lake Dallas Lady Falcons

District: 5-4A

Head Coach: Dugan Walker (20th year, 5th at Lake Dallas)

2012: 19-8-1 (bi-district finalist)

Key Players: P Chrisa Head, SS Amadi Taylor, OF/C Kelsey Tuck


Aubrey Lady Chaparrals

District: 10-3A

Head Coach: Shon Ranton (21st year, 19th at Aubrey)

2012 Record: 21-8 (reached bi-district finals)

Key Players: P Kaley Reding, SS Logan Even, 3B Nikki Brogdon


Argyle Lady Eagles

District: 10-3A

Head Coach: Natalie Coonrod (10th year, 5th at Argyle)

2012 Record: 11-16-1

Key Players: SS Blair O’Brien, P Alyssa Bruton, OF/SS Laura Lotze


Sanger Lady Indians

District: 9-3A

Head Coach: Jae McMinn (20th year, 10th at Sanger)

2012 Record: 25-6-1 (reached regional quarterfinals)

Key Players: P Nicole Nordie, OF Morgan Turkoly, IF Erica Bjorndall


Krum Lady Cats

District: 9-3A

Head Coach: Stacey Lucas (10th year, 4th at Krum)

2012 Record: 12-12 (missed playoffs in Class 2A)

Key Players: SS Cheyanne Bullock, 1B Callie Craddock, P Kaycee Koiner


Pilot Point Lady Cats

District: 12-2A

Head Coach: James Ramsey (14th year, 7th at Pilot Point)

2012 Record: 24-15 (reached regional semifinals)

Key Players: P Skylar Cagle, SS/P Preslee Galloway, 3B Haley Evans


Ponder Lady Lions

District: 9-2A

Head Coach: Paige Wells (12th year, all at Ponder)

2012 Record: 17-10 (reached area finals)

Key Players: P Jessica Orozco, C Andie Beer, P/1B Hannah Prather


Liberty Christian Lady Warriors

District: TAPPS 5A-1

Head Coach: Stephanie Ritter (4th year, all at Liberty Christian)

2012 Record: 13-10 (lost in first round)

Key Players: SS Anna Payne, RHP/UTIL Rachel Rainwater, RHP/UTIL Morgan Morris



Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.