Football: Ryan players named to all-state squad

Comments () A Text Size

BRYAN — Allen junior quarterback Kyler Murray and Cedar Hill defensive lineman Xavier Washington are the players of the year on the 63rd annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 5A all-state team.

Murray passed for 3,672 yards and 46 touchdowns in leading unbeaten Allen to the 5A Division I title. He added 1,283 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns.

Washington, who signed with Northwestern, had 47 tackles for loss, 42 quarterback pressures and 23 sacks for 14-2 Cedar Hill, which beat Katy for the Division II title.

Ryan had multiple selections to the team.

Ryan senior Marc Orozco was named a second-team punter and received honorable mention as a kicker. Senior receiver Trent Willis, senior linebacker Cole Carpenter and senior defensive back Ronnie Coleman landed on the third team.

Ryan junior offensive lineman Dakota Laws and senior defensive tackle Reese Strait received honorable mention.

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.