Baseball: Area players chosen for 3A all-state teams

Comments () A Text Size

Names from Argyle and Sanger were scattered throughout the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A all-state teams, which were announced Tuesday afternoon.

Argyle pitcher Drew Gooch was named a first-team selection along with his teammate Parker Mushinski. Mushinski, who was the team’s No. 2 pitcher last season, made the first team as a first baseman.

Gooch was 10-0 in his senior year with a 0.58 ERA, 77 strikeouts and 17 walks.

Mushinski was 7-2 on the mound with a 2.47 ERA and batted .374 with nine home runs and 37 RBIs.

The two left-handed pitchers graduated this spring, with Gooch going to play at TCU and Mushinski headed to Texas Tech.

Both pitchers played a big role in helping the Eagles reach the 3A state championship game, where they lost to College Station.

Mushinski received honorable mention as a pitcher.

Sanger shortstop Ted Wisdom also landed on the first team following a stellar senior season with the Indians.

Wisdom will play ball at Northern Oklahoma College this fall.

Wisdom batted a staggering .524 last season with three home runs, 36 RBIs and 31 stolen bases.

Argyle outfielder Cutter McDonald made the third team, joining Sanger outfielder Anthony Escobedo.

Argyle catcher Ryley Balch was another honorable mention selection for the Eagles.

McDonald, Escobedo and Balch will return to their respective teams next season for their senior years.

Argyle defeated Sanger in the Class 3A Region II quarterfinals.

It tied Sanger’s deepest baseball playoff run in school history.

The Eagles made their deepest run with their appearance in the 3A state finals.

College Station catcher Baylor Rowlett and a teammate, outfielder Ryan Johnson, split player of the year honors.

Rowlett is committed to Oklahoma State, while Johnson is committed to TCU.

BEN BABY can be reached at 940-566-6869.

TSWA All-State Team


Pitchers — Drew Gooch, Argyle, Sr.; Trey Supak, La Grange, Sr.; and Tyler Kolek, Shepherd, Sr.

Catcher — Baylor Rowlett, College Station, Jr.

First baseman — Parker Mushinski, Argyle, Sr.

Second baseman — Jaxxon Grisham, College Station, Jr.

Shortstop — Ted Wisdom, Sanger, Sr.

Third baseman — Jonathan Castillo, Perryton, Jr.

Outfielders — Ryan Johnson, College Station, Jr.; Zac Law, Robinson, Sr.; and Clayton Harp, El Campo, Jr.

Designated hitter — Blaine Suehs, Caldwell, Sr.

Utility — (tie) Dylan Lemons, Alvarado, Sr. and Austin Smith, Huffman—Hargrave, Sr.

Player of the year – (tie) Rowlett, College Station and Johnson, College Station

Coach of the year – Scott Holder, College Station


Pitchers — MacGregor Hines, College Station, Jr.; Rody Johnson, Iowa Park, Sr.; and (tie) Brayden Griffin, Silsbee, Sr. and Tanner Doucette, Lubbock Cooper, Sr.

Catcher — Hunter Uzzle, Bridge City, Sr.

First baseman — Greg Aiken, Sweetwater, Sr.

Second baseman — Dylan Dougherty, Hidalgo, Fr.

Shortstop – (tie) Timmy Blakeney, Yoakum, Sr. and Donivan Lopez, Sinton, Sr.

Third baseman — Michael Davila, Robinson, Soph.

Outfielders — Cody Berryman, Shallowater, Sr.; William Rittenberry, Carthage, Sr.; and Trey Jeans, Pleasant Grove, Sr.

Designated hitter — Brian Rios, Fort Stockton, Sr.

Utility — Jordan Gore, Silsbee, Sr.


Pitchers — Trey Burk, Sinton, Sr.; (tie) Kyle Richardson, College Station, Soph.; Josh Raiborn, Rusk, Jr.; and Evan Pontley, Ferris, Sr.; and Chase Shugart, Bridge City, Jr.

Catcher —Stephen Barrera, West Columbia, Sr.

First baseman – (tie) Brady Brunson, Burkburnett, Sr. and Tanner James, Robinson, Soph.

Second baseman — Justin Trevino, LaVernia, Sr.

Shortstop – Nate Adames, Rio Hondo, Sr.

Third baseman – Skillet Rinehart, Snyder, Sr.

Outfielders — Anthony Escobedo, Sanger, Jr.; Jeffrey Trujillo, Pecos, Sr.; (tie) Clint Davis, Cuero, Sr.; Cutter McDonald, Argyle, Jr.; Cade Cruce, Melissa, Sr.; and Jordan Salas, Lubbock Cooper, Soph.

Designated hitter – Mikey Freeze, Graham, Jr.

Utility —Vijay Stingley, Rusk, Sr. and Westyn Swenson, Iowa Park, Jr.


Pitchers — Aidan Anderson, West Orange—Stark, Jr.; Grant Anderson, West Orange—Stark, Jr.; Jonathan Castillo, Perryton, Jr.; Pat Day, Tyler Chapel Hill, Sr.; Anthony Doss, Lufkin Hudson, Sr.; Dylan Lemons, Alvarado, Sr.; Jordan Martinez, Sinton, Fr.; Rudy Mendoza, La Vernia, Sr.; Parker Mushinski, Argyle, Sr.; Collin Quinn, El Campo, Soph.; Seth Romero, Columbia, Sr.; William Rittenberry, Carthage, Sr.; Kiefer Schellhase, Shallowater, Sr. ; Austin Smith, Huffman—Hargrave, Sr.; Blaine Suehs, Caldwell, Sr.; Bryce Tomlin, Gilmer, Sr.; Lane Willenborg, West, Sr.

Catchers — Ryley Balch, Argyle, Jr.; Austin Caffey, Rockdale, Sr.; Ragan Forrest, Lorena, Jr.; Colton Parrish, LaVernia, Jr.; Jake Payonk, Caldwell, Sr.; Colby Schmidt, Liberty Hill, Sr.; Kyle Schmidt, Smithville, Jr.; GarrettSunday, Perryton, Sr.; Brennan Whitaker, Iowa Park, Sr.

First basemen — Jay Hinojos, Pecos, Sr.; Dalton Horton, Center, Jr.; Nick Masarik, Columbus, Sr.; Donaldo Perez, Somerset, Sr.; Colby Skelton, La Vernia, Jr.

Second basemen — Garrett Conley, Athens, Sr.; Jay Holland, Alvarado, Sr.; Landen Kimbro, Iowa Park,Soph.; Jarrayd Maybin, Robinson, Sr.; Chad Quinn, El Campo, Jr.

Shortstops — Jared Biddy, Iowa Park, Jr.; Tanner Davis, Celina, Sr.; Eric DeJesus, Diboll, Sr.; Clayton Gibbs, Rockdale, Sr.; Austin Johnson, Cuero, Sr. ; Tanner Luna, Caldwell, Sr.; Evan Pontley, Ferris, Sr.; Curt Stafford, Levelland, Sr.

Third basemen — Brenden Clanton, Levelland, Jr.; Michael Garrison, Fort Stockton, Jr.; Braden Hayward, Lubbock Cooper, Sr.; Chase Hermes, Yoakum, Sr.; Rudy Mendoza, LaVernia, Sr.; Joey Velasquez, LaFeria, Sr.

Outfielders — Luke Baird, Boerne, Sr.; Brett Cain, China Spring, Fr.; Isaac Hutto, Llano, Sr.; Justus Parker, La Vernia, Jr.; Kiefer Schellhase, Shallowater, Sr.

Designated hitter — Rudy Mendoza, La Vernia, Sr.; Jarod Blissett, Carthage, Soph.; Parker Clark, Rusk, Soph.

Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.