Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Volleyball: Numerous all-district honors go to Argyle

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Coming off a state tournament appearance in 2012, the volleyball season didn’t end like Argyle would have liked in 2013, but the Lady Eagles still had plenty to remember in a year that saw them eliminated by eventual Class 3A champion Decatur.

On the All-District 10-3A team, all superlative awards but one were given to Argyle players, highlighted by MVP selection Katy Keenan, the Eagles’ junior middle blocker who has committed to Texas Tech. She was joined by teammates Alexa Bass (Setter of the Year), Strealy Sizelove (Newcomer of the Year), Brooke Robertson (Offensive Player of the Year), Laine Lowry (Libero of the Year) and head coach Clark Oberle (Coach of the Year).

The area all-district teams are voted on by the district’s coaches and only take into account performance in district matches.

District 5-4A co-champion Guyer shared the title with Trophy Club Nelson, a team they split with in the regular season before Nelson won a seeding tiebreaker to earn the top playoff seeding out of the district.

The Lady Wildcats landed several players on the 5-4A team, including co-MVP Madison Walford, a four-year starting setter. Sophomore Emily Hill was named the district’s top offensive player, and senior Sydney Reyes earned Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Denton’s Emily Curtis was named the district’s top libero.

In District 9-3A, Decatur ruled the roost, but Krum and Sanger were represented on the superlatives list.

Krum’s Jordan Crawford was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year along with Decatur’s Cooper Martin, while Krum’s Machala Noack was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Gainesville’s Whytneigh Duffie. Sanger’s Miranda Scott earned Newcomer of the Year honors.

In Class 2A, Ponder landed Blocker of the Year Tori Alexander on the District 9-2A team, while Pilot Point’s Mackenzie David was named Server of the Year in District 12-2A


District 5-5A

MVP — Mary-Kate Marshall, Coppell

Hitter of the Year — Brookah Palmer, Hebron

Defender of the Year — Laura Hogan, Coppell

Setter of the Year — Kylie Pickrell, Coppell

Co-Blockers of the Year — Lauren Cox, Flower Mound; Portia Okafor, Lewisville

Coach of the Year — Julie Green, Coppell

First team

Alex Silver, Coppell; Cathryn Cheek, Coppell; Natalie Gilbert, Coppell; Kristyn Schott, Flower Mound; Molly Werts, Flower Mound; Hannah Holloway, Hebron; Kendal Patterson, Hebron; Lauren Kirch, Hebron; Kristyn Nicholson, Lewisville; Micah Dinwiddie, Lewisville; Mackenzie Pearson, Flower Mound Marcus

Second team

Morgan Beckham, Flower Mound; Kate Dicken, Coppell; Jordan Yauch, Hebron; Tamia Reeves, Hebron; Arissa Chappell, Ryan; Mikayla Grill, Flower Mound; Madison Maynard, Lewisville; Ashley Rich, Coppell; Caitlin Gulyas, Lewisville; Samantha Sales, Marcus; Darby Humphries, Marcus; Sydney Lundgren, Ryan; Brittany Flanagan, Marcus



District 5-4A

Co-MVPs — Hailey Tippett, Trophy Club Nelson; Madison Walford, Guyer

Libero of the Year — Emily Curtis, Denton

Offensive Player of the Year — Emily Hill, Guyer

Defensive Player of the Year — Sydney Reyes, Guyer

Co-Blockers of the Year — Kiley Beaver, Wichita Falls Rider; Elizabeth Pennington, Trophy Club Nelson

Utility Player of the Year — Kendall Chamberlain, Wichita Falls Rider

Server of the Year — Brooke Smith, Azle

Setter of the Year — Delaney Duis, Trophy Club Nelson

Newcomer of the Year — Terckoise Craig, Wichita Falls Rider

Coach of the Year — Libby Pacheco, Trophy Club Nelson

First team

Jennifer Chapman, Lake Dallas; Natalie Smith, Azle; Mallory McKnight, Guyer; Jasmine Montemayor, Guyer; Brianna Fisher, Wichita Falls; Tori O’Connor, Trophy Club Nelson; Jordan Green, Wichita Falls Rider; Jade Akins, Denton; Lauren Wright, Wichita Falls Rider; Sarah Borcik, Trophy Club Nelson

Second team

Hannah Altman, Denton; Emily Kolar, Azle; McKenzie Christopher, Guyer; Zoe Estrabrook, Azle; Hope Rouse, Wichita Falls; Emma Eakin, Wichita Falls; Rachel Richie, Wichita Falls Rider; Cassie Garnett, Lake Dallas; Keelie Hatcher, Fort Worth Brewer; Regan Kemper



District 9-3A

MVP — Makayla Mayfield, Decatur

Co-Offensive Players of the Year — Jordan Crawford, Krum; Cooper Martin, Decatur

Co-Defensive Players of the Year — Whytneigh Duffie, Gainesville; Machala Noack, Krum

Libero of the Year — Payton Cassidy, Gainesville

Server of the Year — Caroline Lowery, Decatur

Newcomer of the Year — Miranda Scott, Sanger

Setter of the Year — Stormi Leonard, Decatur

Coach of the Year — Claire Benedict, Decatur

First team

Brittany Royal, Gainesville, Jr.; Savannah Brinkely, Krum, Sr.; Kayla Askey, Sanger; Morgan Turkoly, Sanger; Jaylen Pegues, Sanger; Dylana Hutchins, Decatur; Leah Guinn, Bridgeport

Second team

Arrainnah Kemp, Gainesville, Sr.; Hannah Gerken, Gainesville, Sr.; Katilynn Sails, Krum, Jr.; Paige Williams, Krum., Jr.; Erin Kearney, Sanger, Jr.; Madi Wilson, Sanger, Jr.; Darci Billimire, Decatur, Sr.; Serena Estrada, Decatur, Sr.



District 10-3A

MVP — Katy Keenan, Argyle, Jr.

Setter of the Year — Alexa Bass, Argyle, So.

Newcomer of the Year — Strealy Sizelove, Argyle, So.

Offensive Player of the Year — Brooke Robertson, Argyle, Sr.

Libero of the Year — Laine Lowry, Argyle, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year — Annie Burns, Celina, Sr.

Coach of the Year — Clark Oberle, Argyle

First team

Eighmy Dobbins, Argyle, So.; Paige Bisi, Aubrey, Sr.; Bailey Moore, Celina, Sr.; Mary LaCroix, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.; Caitlin O’Hearn, Frisco Lone Star, Sr.; Alexis Gardner, Frisco Lone Star, Sr.

Second team

Alyssa Bruton, Argyle, Sr.; Micayla Porter, Aubrey, Fr.; Kayla Inman, Celina, Jr.; Callie Hawkins, Celina, Sr.; Asia Bell, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.; Paige Herrick, Frisco Lone Star, Sr.



District 9-2A

MVP — Bailey Snow, Brock, Jr.

Co-Newcomers of the Year — Sabra Washington, Brock, So.; McKenna Ballard, Peaster, Fr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Kanyon Klein, Brock, Jr.

Defensive Player of the Year — Makala Neighbors, Paradise, Sr.

Server of the Year — Sandy Weyenburg, Peaster, Sr.

Blocker of the Year — Tori Alexander, Ponder, Sr.

Setter of the Year — Makenna Burt, Paradise, Sr.

Libero of the Year — Britney Howard, Boyd, Jr.

Coach of the Year — Dusty Crafton, Boyd

First team

Morgan Strickland, Millsap, Sr.; Jett Preather, Paradise, Jr.; Bailey Sides, Paradise, Sr.; Shannon Watkins, Brock, So.; Nikole Vlahopoulos, Brock, Jr.; Ashley Reams, Ponder, Sr.; Lauren Pittman, Ponder, So.; Karissa Wolfenberger, Peaster, Sr.; Brooklyn Scarborough, Boyd, Sr.

Second team

Shelby Bradshaw, Paradise, Jr.; Reagan Taylor, Paradise, Jr.; Johnna Headley, Paradise, Jr.; Kaylin Wurster, Brock, Sr.; Evalli Morris, Brock, Jr.; Rachel Gustafson, Peaster, Fr.; Sarah Beeler, Peaster, Sr.; Marley McCune, Boyd, Sr.; Baylie Harris, Boyd, Jr.



District 12-2A

MVP – Natalee Wright, Caddo Mills, Sr.

Server of the Year – Mackenzie David, Pilot Point, Jr.

Setter of the Year – Natalee Wright, Caddo Mills, Sr.

Hitter of the Year – Mikayla Watson, Gunter, Soph.

Blocker of the Year – Kristin Newell, Caddo Mills, Soph.

Defensive Player of the Year – Whitney Matous, Sunnyvale, Sr.

Co-Newcomer Players of the Year – J’Kaylee Clark, Farmersville, Soph.; Bailey Miley, Caddo Mills, Soph.

Coach of the Year – Renae Whitaker, Caddo Mills

First team

Hallie Smith, Caddo Mills, Soph.; Haven Neal, Farmersville, Sr.; Katey Campbell, Gunter, Soph.; Kirby Smith, Pilot Point, Sr.; Ashtyn Richey, Pilot Point, Soph.; Rebecca Franklin, Van Alstyne, Sr.

Second team

Jaylynn Gracy, Caddo Mills, Sr.; Makenna Tallant, Caddo Mills, Sr.; Jessica Meguire, Farmersville, Jr.; Regan Hestand, Gunter, Sr.; Brittyn Rushing, Leonard, Jr.; Leslie Berry, Sunnyvale, Jr.