Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Girls basketball: Districts release 2013-14 teams

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Fresh off its run to the girls basketball state tournament, Argyle landed a few notable players on the 10-3A all-district team.

Junior center Delaney Sain was named the district’s offensive player of the year, while freshman Vivian Gray was selected as 10-3A’s newcomer of the year. Sain and Gray were also named to the Class 3A all-tournament team after Argyle’s loss to Waco La Vega in the 3A state championship game on Saturday.

The rest of Argyle’s starting lineup — junior Jesse Sheridan, freshman Madison Ralston and sophomore Olivia Gray — were all first-team selections.

The Argyle duo that shined throughout the postseason for a very young Lady Eagles squad was not the only local players to earn superlative awards in their respective districts.

Krum senior Caylee Thomas was District 9-3A’s offensive player of the year. Thomas’ teammate, sophomore Haley Lewis, was tabbed as the district’s sixth man of the year. Krum lost to Frisco Lone Star in the first round of the 3A playoffs, one year after the Lady Cats reached the Class 3A state semifinals.

In District 5-4A, Guyer senior Quamese Moss was named the defensive player of the year, while junior Jada Calloway was the district’s sixth man of the year. The two Lady Wildcats helped the team reach the area round of the Class 4A playoffs, where Guyer lost to Cleburne by two points.

Guyer freshman Lauren Heard and sophomore Bre Wickware earned first-team nods, joining Lake Dallas sophomore Ashley Hayes and Denton junior Alex McIntosh.

Guyer junior Ola Akinniyi, Guyer senior Sarah Mack, Lake Dallas senior Taylor Davis and Denton senior April Pena all made 5-4A’s second team.

Ryan junior Carissa Sanders represented the Lady Raiders on District 5-5A’s first team, while junior Ashtyn Lovett landed on the second team. Sanders played a large part for a Ryan team that was decimated by injuries throughout the season. The Lady Raiders narrowly missed out on the 5A playoffs.


District 5-5A

MVP — Morgan Easley, Flower Mound Marcus, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Lauren Cox, Flower Mound, Soph.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year — Ashley James, Flower Mound Marcus, Sr.; Jasmine Richard, Flower Mound Marcus, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year — Kenzie Grill, Flower Mound, Soph.

Co-Sixth Man of the Year — Courtney Fields, Flower Mound, Jr.; Rebecca Huddleston, Lewisville, Soph.

Coach of the Year — Fred Jones, Flower Mound Marcus

First team — Alexus Jones, Flower Mound Marcus, Soph.; Taylor Roof, Flower Mound Marcus, Jr.; Vanessa Jones, Flower Mound Marcus, Sr.; Monisha Neal, Lewisville, Sr.; Kayla Mount, Flower Mound, Jr.; Grace Pospichal, Hebron, Jr.; Kristin Cunningham, Hebron, Sr.; Carissa Sanders, Ryan, Jr.; Caitie Galvin, Coppell, Sr.

Second team — Bridgette Stephens, Lewisville, Fr.; Marin Mills, Flower Mound, Soph.; Jessie Larson, Flower Mound, Sr.; Victoria Miller, Hebron, Soph.; Molly Pospichal, Hebron, Jr.; Mary Leigh Rock, Hebron, Soph.; Naomi Hawkins, Lewisville, Soph.; Ashtyn Lovett, Ryan, Jr.

Honorable mention — Ryan: Sydney Lundgren, Faith Pittman, Tichina Coleman


District 5-4A

Co-MVPs — Mercedes Brooks, Wichita Falls Rider, Soph.; Ashley Reid, Rider, Soph.

Offensive Player of the Year — Tyalyn Woodward, Trophy Club Nelson, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year — Quamese Moss, Guyer, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year — Kaycie Dunkerley, Azle, Soph.

Sixth Man of the Year — Jada Calloway, Guyer, Jr.

First team — Abreanna Harrison, Rider, Soph.; Ashley Hayes, Lake Dallas, Soph.; Eshay Hervey, Wichita Falls, Jr.; Alex McIntosh, Denton, Jr.; Lauren Heard, Guyer, Fr.; Bre Wickware, Guyer, Soph.; Morgan Prentice, Azle, Sr.; Valerie Matlock, Azle, Jr.; Madison Edwards, Nelson, Sr.; Sydney Smallwood, Nelson, Sr.

Second team — Skye Catletti, Rider, Sr.; Emily Shaver, Rider, Jr.; Taylor Davis, Lake Dallas, Sr.; Sha-Dazha Williams, Wichita Falls, Jr.; April Pena, Denton, Sr.; Ola Akinniyi, Guyer, Jr.; Sarah Mack, Guyer, Sr.; Peyton Berger, Azle, Soph.; Taylor Fulfer, Azle, Jr.; Shaila Wolter, Nelson, Jr.; Dekesha Butler, Nelson, Sr.; Kaitlyn Dodd, FW Brewer, Sr.


District 9-3A

MVP — Ariannah Kemp, Gainesville, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Caylee Thomas, Krum, Sr.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year — Haley Dennard, Decatur, Sr.; Chandler Kemp, Gainesville, Soph.

Newcomer of the Year — Macen Stripling, Decatur, Jr.

Sixth Man of the Year — Haley Lewis, Krum, Soph.

First team — Murphy Graham, Decatur, Sr.; Shelby Drews, Decatur, Jr.; Katie Isham, Decatur, Sr.; Kylee Myers, Krum, Soph.; Mackenzie Ripple, Krum, Jr.; Cozy Avery, Gainesville, Jr.; Brittany Royal, Gainesville, Jr.; Jacey Beam, Sanger, Soph.; Carissa Spiker, Sanger, Soph.; Brooke Lewis, Sanger, Soph.; Leah Guinn, Bridgeport, Sr.; Landry Walsh, Bridgeport, Jr.

Honorable mention — Krum: Haley White, Sadie May; Sanger: Corey Hammonds


District 10-3A

MVP — Zoie Miller, Frisco Lone Star, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Delaney Sain, Argyle, Jr.

Defensive Player of the Year — Kyense Davis, Celina, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year — Vivian Gray Argyle, Fr.

First team — Jesse Sheridan, Argyle, Jr.; Madison Ralston, Argyle, Fr.; Olivia Gray, Argyle, Soph.; Kendyl Wright, Aubrey, Jr.; Callie Wells, Celina, Sr.; KJ Stastny, Celina, Jr.; Sara Cantu, Celina, Sr.; Whitney Apari, Lone Star, Sr.; Michole Amos, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.

Second team — Bailey Eschle, Argyle, Sr.; Scarlett Gregory, Aubrey, Soph.; McKale Grant, Celina, Fr.; Kenzie Juergens, Celina, Jr.; Taylor Gaffney, Lone Star, Soph.; Bria Greene, Lone Star, Sr.; Alexa Jackson, Ranchview, Sr.; Taylar Walker, Ranchview, Jr.


District 9-2A

MVP — Lexie Ducat, Brock, Jr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Makenna Burt, Paradise, Sr.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year — Lauren Hart, Alvord, Sr.; Taylor Fulmer, Brock, Sr.

Co-Newcomers of the Year — Rachel Harrell, Brock, Soph.; Baylee Chapman, Peaster, Fr.

Coach of the Year — Chance Westmoreland, Brock

First team — Makayla Neighbors, Paradise, Sr.; Courtney Kerr, Paradise, Jr.; Sydney Herbel, Millsap, Soph.; Bailey Ivey, Brock, Jr.; Rachel Williams, Brock, Jr.; Madi Mayfield, Brock, Jr.; Amber Montgomery, Boyd, Sr.; Marissa Schedcik, Alvord, Sr.; Katie Claborn, Alvord, Jr.; Olivia Seli, Peaster, Jr.

Second team — Jolee Carswell, Millsap, Jr.; Trisha Jacbos, Brock, Soph.; Cydnie Bynum, Brock, Jr.; Allie Popeck, Brock, Soph.; Abby Harrell, Boyd, Jr.; Kenzie Elkins, Boyd, Jr.; Brianna Ponder, Alvord, Jr.; Kaylee McConnell, Paradise, Jr.; Jett Preather, Paradise, Jr.; Rachel Smith, Peaster, Sr.


District 12-2A

MVP — Grace Goodhart, Sunnyvale, Jr.

Offensive MVP — Regan Hestand, Gunter, Sr.

Defensive MVP — Bria Johnson, Sunnyvale, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year — Hannah Neal, Farmersville, Soph.

Sixth Man of the Year — Bree Adkins, Gunter, Jr.

Coach of the Year — Jill McDill, Sunnyvale

First team — Ivy Alexander, Sunnyvale, Fr.; Kimmy Blackburn, Leonard, Jr.; Sheridan Lewis, Sunnyvale, Sr.; Mackenzie Mazerolle, Gunter, Jr.; Haven Neal, Farmersville, Sr.; Allison Ray, Pilot Point, Jr.; Brittney Rich, Farmersville, Sr.

Second team — Emily Ames, Sunnyvale, Jr.; Chasity Cummings, Leonard, Jr.; Malena Farber, Leonard, Sr.; Jaimie Hughes, Gunter, Sr.; Emma Moreno, Van Alstyne, Jr.; Mikayla Watson, Gunter, Soph.