Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Football: UNT to honor 2002 bowl champs

Profile image for By Brett Vito / Staff Writer
By Brett Vito / Staff Writer

North Texas will honor one of the greatest teams in recent program history today during its homecoming game against Arkansas State.

UNT knocked off Cincinnati in the 2002 New Orleans Bowl behind running back Kevin Galbreath and a standout defense that had five players intercept passes in a 24-19 win.

Several of those players will be back on campus today when UNT will celebrate the high point of the program’s four-year run as Sun Belt Conference champions from 2001-04 under former head coach Darrell Dickey.

“A lot of people get to rekindle friendships and relive a lot of memories,” UNT head coach Dan McCarney said. “To all of them who are coming back, congratulations. We are going to try to make you proud.”

UNT officials are expecting several dozen members of the team to attend the game.

Some of the greatest players in recent UNT history were members of the 2002 team, including running backs Kevin Galbreath and Patrick Cobbs. Galbreath rushed for 130 yards and was the MVP of the 2002 New Orleans Bowl, while Cobbs went on to set UNT’s career rushing record with 4,050 yards, a mark later broken by Lance Dunbar.

Linebacker Cody Spencer, who went on to play five seasons in the NFL, also was a member of the 2002 team,

as was defensive lineman Brandon Kennedy, the 2002 and 2003 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year.

Kennedy is a member of the UNT Athletic Hall of Fame class that will be inducted today.