Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Football: Orr picks up MVP award at banquet

Profile image for By Brett Vito / Staff Writer
By Brett Vito / Staff Writer

Linebacker Zach Orr received the Odus Mitchell Award presented to North Texas’ most valuable player at the team’s awards banquet on Friday night.

Several hundred people packed the ballroom at the Gateway Center for the annual event. UNT recognized 17 seniors and several members of the athletic department who helped support the team during a 4-8 season.

“We had a great turnout,” UNT head coach Dan McCarney said. “I can’t wait until we get this program where we want it. I can only imagine what it’s going to be like. The room was full tonight. It’s an exciting time. We had a chance to give thanks to so many people who helped us get the foundation in place for the future. I can’t wait. There are some great days ahead.”

UNT finished with a winning record in home games for the second straight season, posting a 3-2 record at Apogee Stadium in its final season as a member of the Sun Belt Conference.

UNT is 7-4 at home in two seasons under McCarney.

UNT will move to Conference USA next year and will return several of its key players, including Orr.

The former DeSoto standout led UNT with 108 tackles to go along with two interceptions and two fumble recoveries.

Orr also received the Joe Greene Award given to UNT’s outstanding defensive player.

Offensive lineman Aaron Fortenberry picked up the Steve Ramsey Award given to UNT’s outstanding offensive player.

Fortenberry anchored UNT’s offensive line that is tied with Air Force for the fewest number of sacks allowed nationally this season with six.

Fortenberry also was UNT’s only player named first-team All-Sun Belt.

BRETT VITO can be reached at 940-566-6870. His e-mail address is



North Texas football award winners

The following is a list of awards presented at North Texas’ annual football banquet on Friday night:

Newcomer of the Year — Antoinne Jimmerson

Scout Team Offensive MVP — Brock Berglund

Scout Team Defensive MVP — Brandon Johnson

Bill Bishop Award (outstanding defensive lineman) — K.C. Obi

Bill Brashier Award (outstanding defensive back) — Zac Whitfield

Byron Gross Award (outstanding linebacker) — Zach Orr

Joe Greene Award (outstanding defensive player) — Zach Orr

Shawn Kramer Award (most inspirational players) — Coleman Feeley, Jeremy Phillips

Abner Haynes Award (outstanding special teams player) — Will Atterberry

Phillip Armour Award (outstanding offensive lineman) — Mason Y’Barbo

Ja’Quay Wilburn Award (outstanding offensive back) — Brandin Byrd

Steve Ramsey Award (outstanding offensive player) — Aaron Fortenberry

Odus Mitchell Award (Team MVP) — Zach Orr