Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

North Texas All-Century team

The following is the North Texas All-Century Football team selected through fan voting and finalized by a school selection committee:

Quarterback — Steve Ramsey (1967-69)

A three-time all-Missouri Valley Conference selection

Running back — Patrick Cobbs (2001-05)

Led the nation with 1,680 rushing yards in 2003, finished career with 4,050 rushing yards.

Running back — Abner Haynes (1957-59)

A two-time all-Missouri Valley Conference selection, 1959 Time magazine All-American

Running back — Ray Renfro (1949-51)

Rushed for 1,556 yards, first-team All-Gulf Coast Conference pick in 1951

Wide receiver — Johnny Quinn (2003-06)

Three time All-Sun Belt pick, UNT’s all-time leading receiver with 2,718 yards

Wide receiver — Ron Shanklin (1967-69)

A two-time all-Missouri Valley Conference selection in 1967 and 1969

Tight end — Brian Waters (1995-98)

A tight end and defensive lineman from 1995-98, All-Big West Conference selection as a senior

Offensive lineman — Scott Bowles (1987-90)

A two-time first-team All-Southland Conference selection in 1987 and 1988

Offensive lineman — Andy Brewster (2001-04)

First-team All-Sun Belt selection in 2003 and 2004, anchor of UNT’s line during 2001-04 bowl seasons

Offensive lineman — Bill Carrico (1958-59)

Two-time All-Missouri Valley Conference selection, Williamson All-American in 1959

Offensive lineman — Glen Holloway (1967-69)

Two-time All-Missouri Valley Conference pick played in three college all-star games

Offensive lineman — Willie Parker (1969-70)

A second-team All-Missouri Valley Conference selection in 1969

Punter — John Baker (1997-99)

Three-time All-Big West Conference selection led UNT in punting in three consecutive seasons

Kicker — Iseed Khoury (1975-77)

Made 26 career field goals, including a 62-yarder, hit all but one of 70 extra point attempts

Defensive lineman — Walter Chapman (1973-77)

Third-team Football News All-American, honorable mention Associated Press All-American in 1977

Defensive lineman — “Mean” Joe Greene (1966-68)

Consensus first-team All-American in 1968, 10-time Pro Bowl selection with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Defensive lineman — Cedrick Hardman (1968-69)

All-Missouri Valley Conference in 1969 when he recorded 38 sacks in 10 games as a senior

Defensive lineman — Brandon Kennedy (2000-03)

The 2002 and 2003 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, three-time first-team all-conference player

Linebacker — Byron Gross (1987-90)

Four-time All-Southland Conference selection and I-AA All-American in 1990

Linebacker — Brad Kassell (1998-01)

Posted 365 career tackles, 2001 Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year

Linebacker — Cody Spencer (2000-03)

Three-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection, led UNT in tackles in 2001 and 2003

Linebacker — Burks Washington (1975-78)

Posted a school-record 390 tackles, including a record 160 tackles in 1977

Defensive back — Bill Brashier (1949-51)

Intercepted 19 passes in his career, including 10 in 1951 season

Defensive back — Jonas Buckles (2001-04)

Four-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection, intercepted 11 passes in his career

Defensive back — Leonard Dunlap (1969-70)

First-team All-Missouri Valley Conference selection in 1970, intercepted 13 passes in his career

Defensive back — J.T. Smith (1974-77)

Gained more than 1,000 career yards in punt returns, interceptions and kickoff returns

Return specialist — Abner Haynes (1957-59)

Led UNT in kickoff return average in 1958 (20.2 yards), 1959 (25.3 yards) and punt return average in three straight seasons starting in 1957 (39.3 yards).

Coach — Odus Mitchell (1946-66)

Set a school record for wins and had 14 winning seasons, including a record seven straight, while posting a 122-85-9 record from 1946-66.