Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content
Todd Brewer

Rodeo: Youth rodeo begins first of two performances

Profile image for By Todd Brewer / For the Denton Record-Chronicle
By Todd Brewer / For the Denton Record-Chronicle

The future of rodeo was featured Tuesday night in the first of two performances of the 21 & Under Youth rodeo at the North Texas State Fair & Rodeo.

Contestants from around the region gathered to compete in the same arena that has seen both former and current world champions pass through its gates in years past.

Andrews Rodeo Company, with legendary stock contractor Sammy Andrews at the helm, furnished the stock for both the PRCA rodeo and the 21 & Under rodeo, demonstrating the talent of the young competitors who paid their fees to ride or rope. The horses in both the bareback and saddle bronc riding proved to be quite the challenge for the cowboys with only Cody Reger covering in the saddle bronc with a 67 to win the event. There were no qualified rides in the bareback bronc riding.

Girls breakaway roping was a close contest with Riley Green of Weatherford claiming the lead with her run of 2.8 seconds. Second place went to Riley Chown from Gainesville with a 3.2, while third place went to Aubrey cowgirl Bradee Rutledge (5.0).

The tie-down calf roping saw some slow times with a 13.3 posted by Pilot Point’s Tyler Prcin fast enough for the win.Second place went to Parker Slate of Decatur at 25.1, and Dakota Tywater of Justin finished third in 26.5.

Prcin showed his skills again in the team roping, partnering with Marty Yates to win the event with a winning time of 6.8 seconds. Placing second with a 8.5 was Clay North and Tyler Ashman finished second with a time of 8.5 seconds, while third place went to Slate and Tywater with a time of 14.3

Megan Winkler was the winner in the girls’ goat tying with her time of 9.5 seconds, followed by McKenzie Phelps (10.7) and Casey Decker of Roanoke (10.8).

Unofficial results before the barrel racing slack performance had Shelby Maxwell of Pilot Point in the lead with a time of 18.44 seconds, while Aubrey’s Kristin Howorka was next at 18.52. Rounding out the top three was another Aubrey cowgirl, Haley Rhodes, with a time of 18.63.

Fort Worth cowboy Forrest Marshall was the only bull rider to cover his ride for a 79 to win all the money.